Old 09-28-2006, 02:33 PM   #1
Saukar30
Human being with feelings
 
Saukar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 138
Default Using more than one soundcard

I have righ now my old Aardvark Direct Pro 24/96 that I ahve been using for a while. I am however going to be getting a new soundcard (Emu 1212m) to get some more headroom when I record. However, I want to take advantage of the situation and use both of these at the same time. I was wondering if anyone does the follwoing setup (and if it works efficently):

1. Play audio through one soundacrd
2. Pass the audio through outboard effects (Limiter, tube pre)
3. From the fx, go into a 2nd soundcard on the computer
4. From that second card go into a different app to record (Reaper / Audition, etc)

My computer is a 2.8 Ghz Pentium 4, 1 GB of ram. Right now, my CPU usage stays kind fo high when I running a lot of tracks, but I would be only recording one track at a time anyways.
__________________
Check out some of the music at ... www.cdbaby.com/cd/saukar
Saukar30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 12:29 PM   #2
Saukar30
Human being with feelings
 
Saukar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 138
Default

Really...no one has ever tried this to try to get some warmth on their digital audio? I see postings about it all of the time, I just wanted some feedback.
__________________
Check out some of the music at ... www.cdbaby.com/cd/saukar
Saukar30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 01:10 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,116
Default

the short answer is that there a lot of problems when combining multiple soundcards that aren't unified at the driver level into one... So REAPER doesnt really support this, though I think some software does (though not very well). There are lots of synchronization issues with doing that.

-Justin
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 03:38 PM   #4
Saukar30
Human being with feelings
 
Saukar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 138
Default

Thanks, Justin.

BTW, I just seen that you have implemented Rewire & fixed it all in the same day (along with posting replies). Whatever caffeine you have in your cup you be the be the sole marketer LOL

I think I went misunderstood though. I was really referring to playing my instrumental music from app & one soundcard and then running it thorugh outboard fx back into and another soundcard and then Reaper. I don't want to use the sample application because I have most of my music in Orion already but I want to give my tracks some air individually and let them come back in. Hope it's not too confusing
__________________
Check out some of the music at ... www.cdbaby.com/cd/saukar
Saukar30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 04:35 PM   #5
kenn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saukar30
I think I [was] misunderstood though. I was really referring to playing my instrumental music from app & one soundcard and then running it thorugh outboard fx back into and another soundcard and then Reaper. I don't want to use the sample application because I have most of my music in Orion already but I want to give my tracks some air individually and let them come back in. Hope it's not too confusing
Hi,

As Justin said, trying to use 2 different soundcards at the same time, in the SAME APP, can be a big problem.

But if each soundcard was being used by a different app... I think it would work OK. I just tried playing an MP3 through the onboard sound of my motherboard, and at the same time I played Reaper through my Audiofile 2496... and it worked OK!

So I think that what you are considering would work OK too.
kenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.