Old 04-24-2019, 02:41 PM   #1
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default Tuning kicks with Reaper tools only

Hi,

maybe I oversee something, but is it possible to tune and analyze e.g. frequencies of kicks with Reaper tools only? There's the spectrum analyzer, however this one doesn't have a target cross and also with the oscilloscope it's not possible. I could use any other tool, but I'm on Linux.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 08:09 PM   #2
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 828
Default

I think it is pretty easy to find the kick's fundamental with ReaEQ and then you can tune it with ReaPitch.
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 07:31 AM   #3
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Thanks, I will try that.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 07:22 PM   #4
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Here's frequency analyzer which will work:

https://github.com/JoepVanlier/JSFX

(Scroll down to "Multi-channel spectral analyser with sonogram and time window")

In ReaPack it's named "Saike Spectral Analyzer"

(And yes I do notice that it's named "Analyser" on the github but "Analyzer" as the plugin name. )

Left click in the window will bring up a frequency readout at the cursor. Also you can zoom in to an area by holding right click and dragging (then while zoomed in, you can left click to bring up the frequency readout at the cursor).

By default it starts with all channels enabled (it can handle 16 channels at once) plus the sonogram. You can turn these off and save its default preset to be simpler, if you want. (I do that, since I don't like the extra CPU use when I load it on a stereo track.)
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 11:51 AM   #5
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Here's frequency analyzer which will work:

https://github.com/JoepVanlier/JSFX

(Scroll down to "Multi-channel spectral analyser with sonogram and time window")

In ReaPack it's named "Saike Spectral Analyzer"

(And yes I do notice that it's named "Analyser" on the github but "Analyzer" as the plugin name. )

Left click in the window will bring up a frequency readout at the cursor. Also you can zoom in to an area by holding right click and dragging (then while zoomed in, you can left click to bring up the frequency readout at the cursor).

By default it starts with all channels enabled (it can handle 16 channels at once) plus the sonogram. You can turn these off and save its default preset to be simpler, if you want. (I do that, since I don't like the extra CPU use when I load it on a stereo track.)
Thanks I will look for this. Looks really good!
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 12:43 PM   #6
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

It's working, but the font size is too small:

__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 12:48 PM   #7
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Open the jsfx file and search for "font". You can edit that line. I'd done this for a few jsfx and scripts in the past, before some scripters/plugin authors started making their work "more Linux aware". This particular plugin looks fine on my system, but I only use 1920*1200 resolution.

And yeah, it's a really good plugin.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 12:54 PM   #8
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Not so easy, the only line I see is:

gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);

I will try some more.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:11 PM   #9
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
Not so easy, the only line I see is:

gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);

I will try some more.
I also just tried some changes to that line, in various ways, and couldn't get the font or font size to be altered.

You may have to ask sai'ke about this.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:18 PM   #10
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Ok, thanks!
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:55 PM   #11
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

I tried something else.

If you edit this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
To say:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1, "Tahoma", 11);
(Notice the bit at the end, the second instance of "gfx_setfont".)

That will allow you to change the font and size of the font, by editing the font name/size in that second "gfx_setfont" portion. Well it allowed me to do it anyway, on my system. Notice how the original line has "gfx_ext_retina>1". My system's resolution is 1920*1200, so I can't use that original line to alter the font or size of font. I'm guessing that has something to do with it.

If you mess it up, you can always download it again. So it can't hurt to try.

For that matter: if your system is using a "Retina" resolution, I think you should just be able to change that original line's number "6" to a higher number to increase the font size. It would depend on the plugin's ability to recognize Retina resolution (maybe jsfx ability to do so, too). So if that doesn't work for you, perhaps the plugin's Retina font setting needs some alteration (and then I'll tell sai'ke).
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 05-01-2019 at 04:17 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 02:22 PM   #12
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,881
Default

My preferred method is to use dynamic split to separate all the kicks and trim them so the start of the item aligns with the beginning of the kick, then I detune or uptune them using item rate (without pitch correction).

It works within a few pitches then you get weird transient stuff at which point It's easier to use regular pitch shift.

Another tip, rather than analyze, put the project playrate way up so it plays back at 2 or 4x speed. You will easily hear the pitch of the drum then and if you have any musical ear at all you can make the adjustment in seconds.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 03:50 PM   #13
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,938
Default

I imagine tuning them with the items' pitch envelopes is probably the best approach vs. ReaPitch, since the item envelopes can be pre-processed to some extent whereas ReaPitch has to be running "live".

Could be wrong though.
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 04:44 PM   #14
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
I imagine tuning them with the items' pitch envelopes is probably the best approach vs. ReaPitch, since the item envelopes can be pre-processed to some extent whereas ReaPitch has to be running "live".

Could be wrong though.
I think both run in real time + compensated processing delay, which is why using the item rate method is best if it's a close move. No delay there at all.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:25 AM   #15
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

@James: Thanks, it didn't work yet. I will try it again on the weekend. First I want to solve my xrun issues .

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I tried something else.

If you edit this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
To say:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1, "Tahoma", 11);
(Notice the bit at the end, the second instance of "gfx_setfont".)

That will allow you to change the font and size of the font, by editing the font name/size in that second "gfx_setfont" portion. Well it allowed me to do it anyway, on my system. Notice how the original line has "gfx_ext_retina>1". My system's resolution is 1920*1200, so I can't use that original line to alter the font or size of font. I'm guessing that has something to do with it.

If you mess it up, you can always download it again. So it can't hurt to try.

For that matter: if your system is using a "Retina" resolution, I think you should just be able to change that original line's number "6" to a higher number to increase the font size. It would depend on the plugin's ability to recognize Retina resolution (maybe jsfx ability to do so, too). So if that doesn't work for you, perhaps the plugin's Retina font setting needs some alteration (and then I'll tell sai'ke).
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:36 AM   #16
5/4
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 41
Default

couldnt you also use reatune js plugin to find the root of your kick?
5/4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:38 AM   #17
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

In that case...you can try this.

Delete this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
Replacing it with:

Code:
gfx_setfont(1, "Tahoma", 11);
That should allow you to set the font/size irrespective of what resolution mode (Retina or not). It works for me anyway.

If that works but the previous approaches didn't, I'm guessing the plugin isn't "Retina aware" at least in Linux. Maybe it needs something less specific to the term "Retina" (HiDPI instead) in the code.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:49 AM   #18
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Even with the spectrum analyzer it's sometimes not possible to determine the frequencies of the kick and it becomes more difficult if the kicks frequencies changes with time. It's also much to fast for the tuner, which shows me always a whole bunch of notes.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 12:23 PM   #19
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Yeah I'm just focusing on helping make the spectrum analyzer work well for its fonts on different computers. Sorry I can't offer much advice about your main goal. I'd just switch out kick samples, personally.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 12:15 PM   #20
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

@James: That worked! Thank's a lot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
In that case...you can try this.

Delete this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
Replacing it with:

Code:
gfx_setfont(1, "Tahoma", 11);
That should allow you to set the font/size irrespective of what resolution mode (Retina or not). It works for me anyway.

If that works but the previous approaches didn't, I'm guessing the plugin isn't "Retina aware" at least in Linux. Maybe it needs something less specific to the term "Retina" (HiDPI instead) in the code.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 02:25 PM   #21
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

I should have asked a more specific question about your initial attempt to make the font larger. I didn't know your screen resolution, and that might be a part of why the initial attempt didn't work.

In this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
Did you try altering it to something such as this instead:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Tahoma",10*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
(Notice I changed the font type from Arial to Tahoma, and the size of the font from 6 to 10...the font size is specified after the font name.)

If that approach works, and your resolution is some kind of HiDPI/retina, then the plugin is working correctly (and the plugin might need some kind of update in the code for the default font type/size for HiDPI/retina).

If that approach doesn't work, and your resolution is some kind of HiDPI/retina, then that line might not be working correctly (the plugin might not be "HiDPI/retina-aware", so that might need to be fixed).

Let me know if that works. Also let me know what your screen resolution is.

After that I'll report to sai'ke about getting the plugin updated. It seems either way, the plugin should be updated.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 06:10 PM   #22
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,931
Default

I noticed this on ReaPack if anyone need something like this, also.
http://kawa.works/reascript-main-section
-> 24 <- Change Base Tuninng (pitch)
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 12:48 PM   #23
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

My resolution is 1920x1080@60.00hz. It's not really stable. I load it again and it comes up with a more or less black screen



Even after de/reinstalling it stays black. I think I have to delete all the config files also.




gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Tahoma",10*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I should have asked a more specific question about your initial attempt to make the font larger. I didn't know your screen resolution, and that might be a part of why the initial attempt didn't work.

In this line:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Arial",6*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
Did you try altering it to something such as this instead:

Code:
gfx_ext_retina>1 ? gfx_setfont(1,"Tahoma",10*gfx_ext_retina,'b') : gfx_setfont(1);
(Notice I changed the font type from Arial to Tahoma, and the size of the font from 6 to 10...the font size is specified after the font name.)

If that approach works, and your resolution is some kind of HiDPI/retina, then the plugin is working correctly (and the plugin might need some kind of update in the code for the default font type/size for HiDPI/retina).

If that approach doesn't work, and your resolution is some kind of HiDPI/retina, then that line might not be working correctly (the plugin might not be "HiDPI/retina-aware", so that might need to be fixed).

Let me know if that works. Also let me know what your screen resolution is.

After that I'll report to sai'ke about getting the plugin updated. It seems either way, the plugin should be updated.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 09:05 AM   #24
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 551
Default

Detecting short bursts of low frequencies is always a challenge with FFT. Large windows average too much (not allowing you to see much temporal resolution) and short windows have insufficient resolution at low frequencies.

If you're just interested in a yes/no answer, you can set up a filter with a very high Q/resonance. Move it around the low frequency area until you hit it. You'll hear it, because suddenly the signal will increase like crazy when you hit the frequency with the resonance.

Now as for the spectrum analyzer plugin, I just pushed a fix that should fix the font issue (fingers crossed), but I honestly have no idea what's going on in that second image. Why it would suddenly display nothing...? There shouldn't be any persistent config file for the plugin. What happens if you remove it from the chain and load up a new one after pulling in the most recent version?

I use it pretty frequently, but on windows. Have you had an issue like this with any other JSFX?
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 12:03 PM   #25
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Thanks. Really strange: I installed the new version and still got only a black screen.Then I killed compton and restarted compton and suddenly my dekstop freezed (I have this issue once in a while). I opened a new console, killed reaper, and the frozen desktop was back.

There's also no hint in the journal what happened (freeze was at 20:54)

Code:
Mai 08 20:33:34 fox kernel: EXT4-fs (sdb1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
Mai 08 20:47:10 fox smartd[469]: Device: /dev/sda [SAT], SMART Usage Attribute: 190 Airflow_Temperature_Cel changed from 78 to 72
Mai 08 20:53:25 fox dbus-daemon[1206]: Activating service name='org.freedesktop.thumbnails.Cache1'
Mai 08 20:53:25 fox dbus-daemon[1206]: Successfully activated service 'org.freedesktop.thumbnails.Cache1'
Mai 08 20:57:18 fox login[660]: pam_unix(login:session): session opened for user marco by LOGIN(uid=0)
Mai 08 20:57:18 fox systemd-logind[475]: New session 4 of user marco.
Mai 08 20:57:18 fox systemd[1]: Started Session 4 of user marco.
Mai 08 21:00:09 fox su[6445]: Successful su for root by marco

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Detecting short bursts of low frequencies is always a challenge with FFT. Large windows average too much (not allowing you to see much temporal resolution) and short windows have insufficient resolution at low frequencies.

If you're just interested in a yes/no answer, you can set up a filter with a very high Q/resonance. Move it around the low frequency area until you hit it. You'll hear it, because suddenly the signal will increase like crazy when you hit the frequency with the resonance.

Now as for the spectrum analyzer plugin, I just pushed a fix that should fix the font issue (fingers crossed), but I honestly have no idea what's going on in that second image. Why it would suddenly display nothing...? There shouldn't be any persistent config file for the plugin. What happens if you remove it from the chain and load up a new one after pulling in the most recent version?

I use it pretty frequently, but on windows. Have you had an issue like this with any other JSFX?
All I see is:

__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 06:37 AM   #26
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 551
Default

Huh, now that's curious. This is going to be a tricky one to debug, because I can't reproduce the problem locally. Apologies if some of these questions seem redundant, but have to try and narrow it down.

1. Has it ever worked?
2. Did anything change in the setup since it worked?
3. When updating to the new version, did you delete the analyzer out of the project and insert the new one?
4. Any chance the include file (colormaps.jsfx-inc) could've gone missing?
5. Could you edit the JSFX and check what the values of gfx_ext_retina, gfx_w and gfx_h are while it is running?

I wonder if for whatever reason, it's not allowing creation of image buffers on your system. The scope renders to an offscreen buffer first and only renders to screen in a second pass.

I'll try and make a small test file when I get home to see if it's related to the offscreen buffers.
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 07:13 AM   #27
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,423
Default

The only good method for tuning kicks is to pitch them 1-2 octave up and use your ears, then low it down same amount. Spectroscopes useless here even with high resolution FFT.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 10:08 AM   #28
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Hi saike,

here are my answers to your questions:

1. Has it ever worked?

Yes, before I made changes to the script it worked. After I did the first change in the font line the problem occured. The first time I could bring the GUI back be reinstalling the plugin, but now it stays black.

2. Did anything change in the setup since it worked?

Not really.

3. When updating to the new version, did you delete the analyzer out of the project and insert the new one?

I also tried to load it into a new project, but this also fails.

4. Any chance the include file (colormaps.jsfx-inc) could've gone missing?


5. Could you edit the JSFX and check what the values of gfx_ext_retina, gfx_w and gfx_h are while it is running?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Huh, now that's curious. This is going to be a tricky one to debug, because I can't reproduce the problem locally. Apologies if some of these questions seem redundant, but have to try and narrow it down.

1. Has it ever worked?
2. Did anything change in the setup since it worked?
3. When updating to the new version, did you delete the analyzer out of the project and insert the new one?
4. Any chance the include file (colormaps.jsfx-inc) could've gone missing?

Nope, it's located in /home/marco/.config/REAPER/Effects/Saike Tools/SpectrumAnalyzer/

5. Could you edit the JSFX and check what the values of gfx_ext_retina, gfx_w and gfx_h are while it is running?




I wonder if for whatever reason, it's not allowing creation of image buffers on your system. The scope renders to an offscreen buffer first and only renders to screen in a second pass.

I'll try and make a small test file when I get home to see if it's related to the offscreen buffers.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 05:36 AM   #29
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 551
Default

Hmm, the gfx variables look fine. Strange.

You could try the attached version. It doesn't render to an offscreen buffer first.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SaikeMultiSpectralAnalyzer.zip (14.4 KB, 5 views)
__________________
[Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [Routing Plugin: Thread|Reapack] | [Filther: Thread|Github|Reapack] | [More JSFX: Thread|Reapack]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 09:32 AM   #30
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Hmm, the gfx variables look fine. Strange.

You could try the attached version. It doesn't render to an offscreen buffer first.
This works again and the font size looks perfect. Do you have an explanation for this?

__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.