Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2020, 04:19 PM   #1
Rivereto Esplorado
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Mi ne plu uzas REAPER kaj ne plu aktivas en la forumoj.
Posts: 84
Default virMIDI, ALSA keyboard troubles fixed!

Often when I start Reaper, I do not have direct access to my MIDI keyboard by name (connected via MIDI cable to Behringer 204HD). Strange because every other DAW on my system (Ardour, Mixbus and Traktion) are still able to see it as "UMC204HD 192k MIDI 1". It takes reboot of my system to see it listed like that in Reaper again.

Today I discovered that if I "rmmod snd_virmidi" the direct MIDI device returns! Also, I could patch my 204HD midi through to one of the virmidi using aconnect if I really wanted and it then works in Reaper that way too. More of a pain than permanently disabling virmidi which I have now done via /etc/modules...

So, good news! I wonder why having virmidi confuses Reaper and not other DAWs?

Last edited by Rivereto Esplorado; 06-02-2020 at 04:48 PM.
Rivereto Esplorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 05:26 PM   #2
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,683
Default

I use a UMC1820 which in REAPER shows as hw:UMC1820 for both midi in and out. I also have an Akai MPD26 that shows up as three midi devices in REAPER, and none of them have either stopped working or weren't available.

I don't use my UMC1820 for Linux sound, so it is exclusive for REAPER only, and I use my mobo sound exclusively for Linux/Pulse.

Whether that has anything to do with it, I dunno. Another thing that might be happening is sample rate changes, where if you are sharing your UMC204HD with Linux/Pulse you might have played something at a different sample rate and caused a derail.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 06:59 PM   #3
Rivereto Esplorado
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Mi ne plu uzas REAPER kaj ne plu aktivas en la forumoj.
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks for the response!

I suspect that my issues began because I installed jOrgan a while ago and it added various lines to module loading such as virmidi and another related one as part of alsa-base.conf.

Clearly, on my system at least, there is a conflict between the 204HD, Reaper and virMIDI. I think that I can safely take the 204HD out of the equation too given no issue with other DAWs.

Out of interest, Glennbo, do you have virMIDI entries when you type "aconnect -lo" in the command line?
Rivereto Esplorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 06:53 AM   #4
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivereto Esplorado View Post
Out of interest, Glennbo, do you have virMIDI entries when you type "aconnect -lo" in the command line?
Mine comes back with this.

client 14: 'Midi Through' [type=kernel]
0 'Midi Through Port-0'
client 24: 'Akai MPD26' [type=kernel,card=2]
0 'Akai MPD26 MIDI 1'
1 'Akai MPD26 MIDI 2'
client 28: 'UMC1820' [type=kernel,card=3]
0 'UMC1820 MIDI 1 '

Also, I keep my UMC1820 normally powered off and only power it up when I'm using it. Sometimes I'll forget to power it up, and REAPER will give me device error, but closing REAPER down, powering on the UMC1820 and re-launching REAPER always will connect fine.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 11:27 AM   #5
Rivereto Esplorado
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Mi ne plu uzas REAPER kaj ne plu aktivas en la forumoj.
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
Mine comes back with this.

client 14: 'Midi Through' [type=kernel]
0 'Midi Through Port-0'
client 24: 'Akai MPD26' [type=kernel,card=2]
0 'Akai MPD26 MIDI 1'
1 'Akai MPD26 MIDI 2'
client 28: 'UMC1820' [type=kernel,card=3]
0 'UMC1820 MIDI 1 '
I think this further settles the issue. virMIDI was installed without my knowing by jOrgan (I think) and all of a sudden my MIDI options were expanded with 4 extra virtual devices. Other DAWs don't seem to mind but Reaper clearly did.

To summarize, this feels very much like a Reaper bug but it isn't going to be an issue for users if virMIDI isn't even loaded.
Rivereto Esplorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.