Old 01-25-2007, 05:56 PM   #1
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default The time has come! Per item FX! (DONE)

i propose a new item properties area, it could be SO simple



just throw an FX button right next to the mute box!

a close up:



turned on and mouse hovering over it revealing list of fx on it



per item fx would make it so the fx are not being used until it hits that particular item, like in samplitude. Great for certain fx and for applying things to only items, and trust me this comes in handy very much, and has been requested several times.


DONE (2.100)
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Dstruct; 02-01-2008 at 03:08 PM.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 06:10 PM   #2
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

another idea -- having the fx chain list represented in the same media item properties box



and then the fx chain box could be different for the media properties, showing the position in the top pane



unlike other sequencers, it could also be used for instruments and midi tracks no? picture a midi sequence, just a little part, and you dont feel like assigning it its own track. Just make the midi part, and in the properties send it to a vsti!

simple as that!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Jason Brian Merrill; 01-25-2007 at 06:22 PM.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 06:32 PM   #3
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

how it would be shown ON the item:



this way we can easily see what was used on it, but you dont even need to list the fx. Just having the word "fx" displayed on the item is enough to let us know that there ARE effects used on that item specifically.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:21 AM   #4
Bevoss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 666
Default

+1 Only if we call it object editing!

Nah I don't care what it's called, this would put our editing up with Samplitude, just perfect when the only effect you want on a track is a small delay on one note, or similar.

It's probably more important than freeze, am I right Jason?
Bevoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:35 AM   #5
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Posts: 947
Default plus one

+1 from me
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:47 AM   #6
Sam C
Human being with feelings
 
Sam C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Monica CA
Posts: 1,011
Default

+1............
Sam C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:13 AM   #7
TerryW
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 386
Default

+2 Great idea.
TerryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:29 AM   #8
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevoss View Post
+1 Only if we call it object editing!

Nah I don't care what it's called, this would put our editing up with Samplitude, just perfect when the only effect you want on a track is a small delay on one note, or similar.

It's probably more important than freeze, am I right Jason?

I wouldnt say more important than freeze
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:53 AM   #9
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

Well yes - +1 of course from me too.

Add a pre/post send in there too while we're on !!!!



==
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 09:07 AM   #10
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default Got my vote for this!!

Well displayed Jason!! I vote + 3
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 09:56 AM   #11
plush2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 1,828
Default

+1 from me as well. I love that - photoshop(ing) in features on the existing gui.

Solar, have you ever considered doing a little photo editing to your avatar so that it says 'Reaper' instead of 'Rebel'? It looks at least halfway there already to me.

Last edited by plush2; 01-26-2007 at 10:00 AM. Reason: added apropriate emoticon
plush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 11:36 AM   #12
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plush2 View Post
+1 from me as well. I love that - photoshop(ing) in features on the existing gui.

Solar, have you ever considered doing a little photo editing to your avatar so that it says 'Reaper' instead of 'Rebel'? It looks at least halfway there already to me.

as long as he gets the middle indent right
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 12:20 PM   #13
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,183
Default

What if...

...the same keycommand used to open a "track fx window" would be reused to open the "per item fx" (depending on what is selected: a track or an item) ?
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 12:45 PM   #14
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebas777 View Post
What if...

...the same keycommand used to open a "track fx window" would be reused to open the "per item fx" (depending on what is selected: a track or an item) ?
good point.

but who knows if justin even wants to do it at this point.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 12:49 PM   #15
Alistair S
Human being with feelings
 
Alistair S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,495
Default

Jason, to make sure I understood.

You place the effect on the track as now (well, you could access the same dialogue from the clip, but however you do it, the effect is basically held on the track). Is that right?

Then, by clicking it on/off in the item dialogue, or by making changes to a setting, you cause Reaper to set up the envelope to switch on/bypass/change the effect automatically, but the user sees a simpler and more intuitive UI?

Is that the idea?

I like it.
Alistair S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 01:02 PM   #16
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alistair S View Post
Jason, to make sure I understood.

You place the effect on the track as now........Then, by clicking it on/off in the item dialogue, or by making changes to a setting, you cause Reaper to set up the envelope to switch on/bypass/change the effect automatically, but the user sees a simpler and more intuitive UI? Is that the idea?
No - if its to be like Sam then its actually an FX slot for each and every object (item) on the timeline. That means that you could have a CPU intensive plug working on a 2 second item only - or you could apply a high pass filter to a Pop in the mic. There are so many uses for this....
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 01:40 PM   #17
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default Good suggestion!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by plush2 View Post
+1 from me as well. I love that - photoshop(ing) in features on the existing gui.

Solar, have you ever considered doing a little photo editing to your avatar so that it says 'Reaper' instead of 'Rebel'? It looks at least halfway there already to me.
Hey PLush!!

Love the suggestion... i will try to do so!! thanx, i'll work on it soon!!hahahahaa!!
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 03:48 PM   #18
hansdampf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 237
Default

+1 here

I would also like the idea of a hovering fx-box for the track if you are over the fx-button with the mouse, so you wouldn´t necessarily have to open the big fat fxchain if you only want to open one fx of the track. ... it would be somehow similar to the fx-container of SONAR, but only be shown when you are with the mouse over the fx-button.
hansdampf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 04:32 PM   #19
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,183
Default



One more idea: FX icon - available for every item, but only if the master FX icon is on (to avoid clutter).
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:15 PM   #20
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

PARFAIT!

merci!!!!


much, much, much better than what i proposed.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Jason Brian Merrill; 01-26-2007 at 05:36 PM.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:29 PM   #21
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Quote:
I love that - photoshop(ing) in features on the existing gui.
I believe this is how Justin does the coding so fast - he just makes interface mockups and his code generator goes off and writes the necessary stuff. And when someone does a mockup like this, all he has to do is copy and paste it into his code generator and there's the feature implemented.

Heh, if only life were like that.... but I do recall in my far off coding days that we tended to do mockup screens just as text for the clients to "walk through" before we did the code (but they still changed what they were asking for after the code was written...).
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:36 PM   #22
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
I believe this is how Justin does the coding so fast - he just makes interface mockups and his code generator goes off and writes the necessary stuff. And when someone does a mockup like this, all he has to do is copy and paste it into his code generator and there's the feature implemented.

Heh, if only life were like that.... but I do recall in my far off coding days that we tended to do mockup screens just as text for the clients to "walk through" before we did the code (but they still changed what they were asking for after the code was written...).
well, i figure it makes things easier to envision -- the recent addition of "midi learn" buttons to the envelopes dialog was almost totally a "photoshop" experience hehe...

Anything to help get certain features in, i will do
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:01 PM   #23
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

a couple of issues with implmentation....not my words, but certainly valid.

one problem is what happens when someone goes and puts an effect on an item, and then autosplits it, next thing you know it's using 40gb of ram....also there'd be a bunch of work for per-item fx envelopes too.....
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:10 PM   #24
todd24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
a couple of issues with implmentation....not my words, but certainly valid.

one problem is what happens when someone goes and puts an effect on an item, and then autosplits it, next thing you know it's using 40gb of ram....also there'd be a bunch of work for per-item fx envelopes too.....
Sorry guys but, I still vote for folders in folders instead.

This just gets too messy for me. I would rather have a bunch of tracks stuck in a folder, each with its own section, with its unique fx on the channel strip. Open the folder there it is, close it, there it is hiding. This would also practically eleminate the need for automation, and the mess it creates.

Yes, I have OCDs'
todd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:14 PM   #25
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

I think folder in folder is nessecary too, but it doesnt take the place of per item fx for me.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:05 PM   #26
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default Could not agree more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
I think folder in folder is nessecary too, but it doesnt take the place of per item fx for me.
Hey Jason! I do agree with you that we need both new feature" Folder to folder but also the Item Fx or Object Fx, its a must and will help workflow especially mixing.

by the way i did not know you speak french, c'est de bon de savoir!!

A plus!
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:11 PM   #27
todd24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
I think folder in folder is nessecary too, but it doesnt take the place of per item fx for me.
It would for my work flow...

I definatly dont think per item would hurt.If alot of others would benefit, Its a good idea. Inspite of wether I would use it or not.
todd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:29 PM   #28
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post

by the way i did not know you speak french, c'est de bon de savoir!!

A plus!
ouais
cest ben bon de savoir
dans la vie il faut savoir

I picked up a little this summer.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:32 PM   #29
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default hahaahahhaa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
ouais
cest ben bon de savoir
dans la vie il faut savoir

I picked up a little this summer.
Good oen Jason, i was typing and did not check that i miss to right and i did a mistake cuz i add " de", normally its "c'est bien de savoir or c'est bien bon de savoir"

hahaa later
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 01:59 AM   #30
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

Get ya all the Samplitude 9 Demo and see how object FX can work. Samplitude introduced this idea years ago now. It saves tracks, folders and screen estate of course - is great for mixing and especially mastering.

When I first saw Reaper I thought it had item FX as I recognizeds the 'object editor' - well its getting there with its item properties and Justin ahs said somewhere that its comming later....


==
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 03:34 AM   #31
Bevoss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maa View Post
When I first saw Reaper I thought it had item FX as I recognizeds the 'object editor' - well its getting there with its item properties and Justin ahs said somewhere that its comming later....
==
He said that, did he? Sick! That's probably the best feature in Samplitude, I nearly went that way but saw Reaper just in time, so I sincerely hope it's coming soon.
Bevoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:56 AM   #32
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevoss View Post
He said that, did he? Sick! That's probably the best feature in Samplitude, I nearly went that way but saw Reaper just in time, so I sincerely hope it's coming soon.
looks like post 2.0 if maa is talking about the same thing i am.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 10:48 AM   #33
saturdaysaint
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 101
Default

I have this in Sonar but it's never really become a part of my workflow (in part because in Sonar, the effects always use CPU regardless of whether or not the clip is playing). Can you guys give an example of a good use for per-item fx? Do you use multiple instances of the same effect in a track to achieve a kind of snapshot automation? I'm interested in how you guys actually use it.
saturdaysaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 11:05 AM   #34
hansdampf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturdaysaint View Post
I have this in Sonar but it's never really become a part of my workflow (in part because in Sonar, the effects always use CPU regardless of whether or not the clip is playing).
I just checked and this stands for a Track-fx in Reaper, too. So even if there is no actual item on a track, the track-fx uses CPU. This is a clear drawback in SONAR and in REAPER. But it is not that bad in REAPER, since its audio-engine doesn`t drop out as fast as the one of SONAR. To me that is the one fundamental difference between these two apps after testing REAPER a little more in detail the last weeks: The playback in SONAR drops out on me all the time when the CPU is at about 80% and I open a plugin or such, while in REAPER the playback seems to have clear priority over GUI-stuff. REAPER wins here for me....
hansdampf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 11:15 AM   #35
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansdampf View Post
I just checked and this stands for a Track-fx in Reaper, too. So even if there is no actual item on a track, the track-fx uses CPU. This is a clear drawback in SONAR and in REAPER. But it is not that bad in REAPER, since its audio-engine doesn`t drop out as fast as the one of SONAR. To me that is the one fundamental difference between these two apps after testing REAPER a little more in detail the last weeks: The playback in SONAR drops out on me all the time when the CPU is at about 80% and I open a plugin or such, while in REAPER the playback seems to have clear priority over GUI-stuff. REAPER wins here for me....
all track fx in programs use cpu when not on -- esp if the track is armed.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 11:58 AM   #36
hansdampf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
all track fx in programs use cpu when not on -- esp if the track is armed.
I can remember that at least one of the big boys (maybe Cubase...) is able to check if there is something to process at all and activates the plugin accordingly. but I am really not sure which one that was...
hansdampf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 12:17 PM   #37
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansdampf View Post
I can remember that at least one of the big boys (maybe Cubase...) is able to check if there is something to process at all and activates the plugin accordingly. but I am really not sure which one that was...
FLstudio does.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 04:17 PM   #38
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

as i began to explore other options when I became frustrated by the folks who make my beloved cubase... this object FX was one of the features of sam9pro that I really dug.

+1 for me too.
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 06:21 AM   #39
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default

I dream of this tooo..!
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 09:51 AM   #40
TONDOG64
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA?
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
i propose a new item properties area, it could be SO simple
I think we're all spoiled by the proliferation of features that just appear here daily. I can't help thinking that none of this is ever child's play to Justin and company. They just make it look SO simple.

Like auto body repair. The better the job, the less anyone notices.
__________________
Tony
TONDOG64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.