Old 02-12-2008, 03:31 PM   #1
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default FX "Rack" View

Let me know if this has been said before.
I would love it if the last option listed on the left in the FX chain was "Rack View".
Click it and you see all Plugins stacked in a column for easy access.
It's like you just turned your head to look at you FX rack.
Everything accessible at one time.

Also would make it easier to see how plugins are interacting with each other.

++1

Anyone?
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 04:35 PM   #2
mse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 54
Default

++1 and "Reason" style rack please.
mse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 04:46 PM   #3
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

I'm estimating that I haven't understood this properly J because the way I'm imagining it you'd only see two plugs stacked at the most.

Can you mock it up for those of limited understanding? (I guess I'm talking 'bout me mainly )

In principle it sounds great.
__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 05:03 PM   #4
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikemullings View Post
I'm estimating that I haven't understood this properly J because the way I'm imagining it you'd only see two plugs stacked at the most.

Can you mock it up for those of limited understanding? (I guess I'm talking 'bout me mainly )

In principle it sounds great.
I can't. I'm at work.
I'm not sure I'll have time tonight.
Basically, you'd just see all the plugs in a given FX chain at the same time.
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 01:09 AM   #5
NoiseMan
Human being with feelings
 
NoiseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 522
Default

Bringing Reason into Reaper, huh...?


Sounds sexy as hell.
+1 from my side.
NoiseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 07:50 AM   #6
labyrinth
Human being with feelings
 
labyrinth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,248
Default Sure would help

Streamline working on your mix at times.

++1
__________________
www.res-ref.com | Resonant Reflections
iMac 3.2 GHz (i5 4570)/16GB RAM | OSX 10.10 (Yosemite) | Interface: Focusrite 18i6
labyrinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:11 AM   #7
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Spike: Here's that gorgeuos M$ paint mock-up you requested.

P.S. I'm imagining we could stack the plugs in two columns as well, with some sort of indication that signal flow is left-to-right, top-to-bottom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RACKview.JPG (92.8 KB, 3381 views)
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries

Last edited by JasonTheron; 02-13-2008 at 10:15 AM.
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:23 AM   #8
xxavengeatticaxx
Human being with feelings
 
xxavengeatticaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Default

this seems like a reasonably good idea ++1
xxavengeatticaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:49 AM   #9
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTheron View Post
Spike: Here's that gorgeuos M$ paint mock-up you requested.

P.S. I'm imagining we could stack the plugs in two columns as well, with some sort of indication that signal flow is left-to-right, top-to-bottom
You smooth drawing devil you

That does look good. I wonder if it should actually be scrollable and then each plug be capable of being "rolled up" or not. So if you had say five plugs and wanted to see the 1st and last you could roll up 2, 3, and 4 so the first and last fit on the one screen (or any combination of any of the above).

+1
__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:50 AM   #10
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikemullings View Post
You smooth drawing devil you

That does look good. I wonder if it should actually be scrollable and then each plug be capable of being "rolled up" or not. So if you had say five plugs and wanted to see the 1st and last you could roll up 2, 3, and 4 so the first and last fit on the one screen (or any combination of any of the above).

+1
Good call!
As long as you can easily tell what's "Rolled up".
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 11:04 AM   #11
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTheron View Post
As long as you can easily tell what's "Rolled up".
Yeah, maybe some kind of icon next to the plug in the left hand panel list? Something like folder tracks are now?

Perhaps you could have nested plug-in folders so that you could show how plugs work in parallel on different track channels eh? eh? eh? oh sorry, getting carried away.
__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 11:05 AM   #12
S-N-S
Human being with feelings
 
S-N-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ålborg-denmark
Posts: 418
Default

great idea.you got my +1
__________________
kind regards
michael

S-N-S

www.myspace.com/scandinaviannoizesyndicate



FOR NEWS AND INFO
http://digitalvomit.wikidot.com/scan...oize-syndicate
S-N-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 12:53 PM   #13
stratman
Human being with feelings
 
stratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woking, England
Posts: 2,685
Default

Good idea.

+1

Pete
stratman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 04:31 PM   #14
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Biggity bumpage
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 04:56 PM   #15
StepOne
Human being with feelings
 
StepOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 991
Default

plus uno +1
__________________
Damn it feels good to be a gangsta.
StepOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 06:27 PM   #16
slops
Human being with feelings
 
slops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 619
Default

+1 definitely.

...but what would happen with the different sizes of FX interfaces?
force to shrink/grow to one specified rack size? hide any part of an interface that is too big until touched/modified?

whatever the solution, good idea either way.
slops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 07:14 PM   #17
Deric
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTheron View Post
Let me know if this has been said before.
I would love it if the last option listed on the left in the FX chain was "Rack View".
Click it and you see all Plugins stacked in a column for easy access.
It's like you just turned your head to look at you FX rack.
Everything accessible at one time.

Also would make it easier to see how plugins are interacting with each other...
Definitely ++1
__________________
REAPER? Oh yes...
Deric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 10:10 AM   #18
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,059
Default

+1 from me.

With a vertical scroll bar on the right-hand side too, so you can scroll to any of the stacked FX
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 09:50 PM   #19
inthepipeline
Human being with feelings
 
inthepipeline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, UK. Slowly sinking island next to mainland Europe
Posts: 541
Default

I think it would look good and carry loads of useful visual info. +1
__________________
i7 950, 12gig 1600ddr3, lots of SSD, Fireface UFX, BM5a, JBL LSR6632, OctopreLE x2, Customised Soundcraft 8000, and proud, paid up Reaper user.
inthepipeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 10:50 PM   #20
One flew over
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 130
Default

Looks good!

But as slops mentioned, how would it look if the plugins have different width? Some plugins, synths especially, can be quite large in size...

Also, I'd prefer a simple button for this next to "Add" and "Remove". Or was there any reason having it look like an insert in it self?
One flew over is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:28 PM   #21
bugg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Default

Sonar has a Synth Rack which sounds a lot like this, instead of drawing the actual VST interface it shows a sort of 'generic' graphic for each plugin. (screenshot attached)

Interaction with the VST/VSTi is limited in rack view, and I'm not sure how this could be overcome without introducing plug-in UI size problems, but it is a nice feature.


++1 for FX rack view.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sonar62_l.jpg (63.6 KB, 814 views)
bugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:23 AM   #22
One flew over
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugg View Post
instead of drawing the actual VST interface it shows a sort of 'generic' graphic for each plugin.
Then I think I'd prefer a scrollable rack in a resizeable window tbh. A different GUI would just confuse me and I would most probably end up not using it at all.
One flew over is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:53 AM   #23
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by One flew over View Post
Looks good!

But as slops mentioned, how would it look if the plugins have different width? Some plugins, synths especially, can be quite large in size...

Also, I'd prefer a simple button for this next to "Add" and "Remove". Or was there any reason having it look like an insert in it self?
It wouldn't be that great on single low res monitors but...
I was thinking that it would be resizable and would re-stack the FX by fitting as many in each row as allowed by the size of the window.
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 11:45 AM   #24
inthepipeline
Human being with feelings
 
inthepipeline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, UK. Slowly sinking island next to mainland Europe
Posts: 541
Default

I quite fancy the idea of a window containing a thumbnail of each effect in the chain, sort of like a minature rack. Then you could click to expand any effect you wanted to work on and shrink it back into the rack again.
__________________
i7 950, 12gig 1600ddr3, lots of SSD, Fireface UFX, BM5a, JBL LSR6632, OctopreLE x2, Customised Soundcraft 8000, and proud, paid up Reaper user.
inthepipeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:09 PM   #25
JasonTheron
Human being with feelings
 
JasonTheron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,207
Default

Okay, this FR needs 6 more votes to make it to the top 10.
Anymore "++1"s?
__________________
"pff... anybody who has over 900 posts is a total dork..." -Till (Post count of 932 as of the date of this quote)

My Band - http://ischemiacore.com
Till's FR Vote Tracker - http://tillmannn.de/reaper.html -
Underground Music in Southern Oregon - http://www.myspace.com/sohcindustries
JasonTheron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:32 PM   #26
Socket
Human being with feelings
 
Socket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North London, UK
Posts: 323
Default

I'll give it a +1. Would be great if there was an option for it to replace the individually listed plug ins on the mixer channels, which wouldn't achieve much more than the 'FX' button as you'd still have to click on it to see it but it would allow you to have the full list for tracks with few plug ins and a rack link for tracks with shedloads.
Socket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 06:04 PM   #27
mse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 54
Default

++1 from me
mse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 10:26 AM   #28
xxavengeatticaxx
Human being with feelings
 
xxavengeatticaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Default

++1 if i didnt already do it
xxavengeatticaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:53 AM   #29
Switch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 119
Default

++1 totally!

Very hip idea, would be add some aesthetics, but more importantly, it'd REALLY help workflow. Less clicks. And my god it'd look hot.

For the resize issue... perhaps any GUI's larger than the window could be given horizontal scrollbars?
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 12:33 AM   #30
Ad0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Default

++1 !

Also, a more extensive alternative: http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14718
Ad0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 12:56 AM   #31
hourglass
Human being with feelings
 
hourglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Reading, UK.
Posts: 356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inthepipeline View Post
I quite fancy the idea of a window containing a thumbnail of each effect in the chain, sort of like a minature rack. Then you could click to expand any effect you wanted to work on and shrink it back into the rack again.
+1 to this, but i'm imagining it more along the lines of... well, lines:

1) FX 1______________+-
2) FX 2______________+-
|
| (gui for FX 2)
|
3) INSTRUMENT________+-
etc.

"+" maximises the view for that item, "-" minimises again. no fuss, no muss.

i can't be bothered to mock this up since i'm at work. but this is a familiar paradigm for windows users so hopefully people will know what i'm getting at.
__________________
i was going to write something witty. but this is here instead.

>> random thoughts about the world, digested into bitesize bloggy chunks
>> doubledotdash!? collective - hear tunes!

Last edited by hourglass; 04-25-2008 at 12:58 AM.
hourglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 09:28 PM   #32
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

Bump to +1 this, I missed it the first time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socket View Post
I'll give it a +1. Would be great if there was an option for it to replace the individually listed plug ins on the mixer channels, which wouldn't achieve much more than the 'FX' button as you'd still have to click on it to see it but it would allow you to have the full list for tracks with few plug ins and a rack link for tracks with shedloads.
+1 to this as well; I'd very much like a way to save the FX Chains grouped in a single-slotted "rack".

Excellent idea Jason!
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 10:13 PM   #33
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

++1 I like the idea of optionally seeing the whole fx bin in a virtual rack.
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 11:29 PM   #34
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 543
Default

Could be useful for me too, so +1

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 03:15 AM   #35
synthie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 118
Default

I asked for this in a separate thread but I'll throw my weight in here too.
Just to add that I'd like to have multiple FX Chains open. That would mean that you could easily compare two FX chains from different tracks and adjust settings while the first chain is still there.

++1
synthie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 03:37 AM   #36
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

What I would like, and can't think how it would be done, is for the rack to be visually very clearly associated with and/or connected to the track.

OK, maybe like a flag sort of arrangement. You click a button on the MCP and a line like a flag pole comes up from the side of the track strip and the rack sort of "unfurls" like a flag. So that then stays visually connected to the track by the pole until you roll it all up again.

Oh don't mind me I'm just wiffling to myself really.

__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings

Last edited by spikemullings; 09-09-2008 at 05:51 AM. Reason: further wiffle
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 03:56 AM   #37
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

great idea.. I think it would be better than seeing them one by one.
so +1
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 08:24 AM   #38
Chris_P_Critter
Human being with feelings
 
Chris_P_Critter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,574
Default

+ elenventy hundred zillion.
Chris_P_Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 02:09 PM   #39
Cybolic
Human being with feelings
 
Cybolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 407
Default

+1 that would indeed make a lot of tweaking a lot quicker.
Cybolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 05:54 PM   #40
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 563
Default

+1 this would be cool as long as we all survive the hadron black hole fest
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.