Old 08-27-2019, 03:09 AM   #1
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default How to crop edges of takes faster?

Does anybody know how to crop edges of takes faster? Or may be to make record without it. I mean, that all takes in one item would be same length. I know about 'Record mode: time selection auto punch', but when I do video dubbing it not so comfortable. Although maybe I don't understand this mode correctly. If somebody knows, explain please. It'll save my working time.
Attached Images
File Type: gif example2-006.gif (58.2 KB, 45 views)
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 08:59 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numen View Post
Does anybody know how to crop edges of takes faster? Or may be to make record without it. I mean, that all takes in one item would be same length. I know about 'Record mode: time selection auto punch', but when I do video dubbing it not so comfortable.
Have you tried setting the record mode to auto-punch selected items instead?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 09:38 AM   #3
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Have you tried setting the record mode to auto-punch selected items instead?
Yes, I tried it. But if I move cursor (to left or right) after 2 or more takes, everything will be similar as 'Record mode: normal'. I mean, if I forgot select item and then began record. As a result I have a lot of mess. Perhaps, I use 'Record mode: auto-punch selected items' incorrectly. Anyway, if you have project with mess, and you need mount it, then function 'delete all adjacent items' would be useful.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 09:57 AM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numen View Post
Yes, I tried it. But if I move cursor (to left or right) after 2 or more takes, everything will be similar as 'Record mode: normal'. I mean, if I forgot select item and then began record. As a result I have a lot of mess.
Tip: In cases like this, don't move the cursor by clicking on the arrange area, but rather over the timeline ruler. That way you won't lose the item selection. The other way around could be to change the default mouse modifier action for the Track left click context to e.g. View: Move edit cursor to mouse cursor. But then you would naturally lose the ability to deselect items by left clicking, so it's about picking your poison.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:01 AM   #5
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Tip: In cases like this, don't move the cursor by clicking on the arrange area, but rather over the timeline ruler. That way you won't lose the item selection. The other way around could be to change the default mouse modifier action for the Track left click context to e.g. View: Move edit cursor to mouse cursor. But then you would naturally lose the ability to deselect items by left clicking, so it's about picking your poison.
Thank you. I'll keep it in mind.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:07 AM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,888
Default

I work with collapsed takes (CTRL+L) - this makes the selection/deletion of the splits on edges slightly quicker to delete but my main reason for posting is it seems like this could be marginally scriptable. It could be possibly tricky to implement but I think it is worth thinking about to figure out how tricky/risky.

I agree on auto-punching selected item, unless you can "lock selection to item", I inadvertently deselect it every single time.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:55 PM   #7
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,270
Default

Double click the track panel to select all items in the track. Ctrl+click the item you want to keep to remove it from the selection. Hit delete.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:15 AM   #8
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
I work with collapsed takes (CTRL+L) - this makes the selection/deletion of the splits on edges slightly quicker to delete but my main reason for posting is it seems like this could be marginally scriptable. It could be possibly tricky to implement but I think it is worth thinking about to figure out how tricky/risky.

I agree on auto-punching selected item, unless you can "lock selection to item", I inadvertently deselect it every single time.
I try to make script for it. I think it will be useful. Even if you use 'Record mode: auto-punch selected item' correctly, then surely someone will give a project with a mess of takes for editing.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:22 AM   #9
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Double click the track panel to select all items in the track. Ctrl+click the item you want to keep to remove it from the selection. Hit delete.
It doesn't seem simple. Because you can have a lot of items in one track. And every item have a lot of takes.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 08:40 AM   #10
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numen View Post
It doesn't seem simple. Because you can have a lot of items in one track. And every item have a lot of takes.
But there's only a couple items at most that you really want, and those are almost always pretty obvious. In the pic you showed it really could have been that easy. I do this literally all the time. It looks all yucky and kind of freaks us out, but it's easy to deal with. Select all, unselect the ones I want to keep, delete. Done.


But honestly, this is your own fault. You decided to be lazy earlier in the process and that caused you some extra work now. I did say I do this all the time, too, so I know how it goes. When I'm tracking I tend to not want to interrupt the creative flow with too many technical details. Just hit record and rock. Have "the assistant" clean it up after. Yes, "the assistant" is me, but that's another job for another day. It's not actually that hard to start and end recording of each take at exactly the same time, but it's also not really as hard as everybody makes it out to be to clean up the little stubs after.

Edit - There IS an action Item: Invert Selection, I'm not sure it's much faster since you still end up clicking on the items you want to keep. I guess it's a matter of whether you want to hold down the Ctrl key?
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 09:06 AM   #11
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,888
Default

Would still be nice to have a script that deletes all items on selected tracks shorter than ~seconds (not sure if scripting can show a dialog of how many seconds to choose). I was going to try to whip something up but my schedule is slammed full until after Labor day.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.

Last edited by karbomusic; 08-29-2019 at 11:07 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 02:15 AM   #12
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
But there's only a couple items at most that you really want, and those are almost always pretty obvious. In the pic you showed it really could have been that easy. I do this literally all the time. It looks all yucky and kind of freaks us out, but it's easy to deal with. Select all, unselect the ones I want to keep, delete. Done.


But honestly, this is your own fault. You decided to be lazy earlier in the process and that caused you some extra work now. I did say I do this all the time, too, so I know how it goes. When I'm tracking I tend to not want to interrupt the creative flow with too many technical details. Just hit record and rock. Have "the assistant" clean it up after. Yes, "the assistant" is me, but that's another job for another day. It's not actually that hard to start and end recording of each take at exactly the same time, but it's also not really as hard as everybody makes it out to be to clean up the little stubs after.

Edit - There IS an action Item: Invert Selection, I'm not sure it's much faster since you still end up clicking on the items you want to keep. I guess it's a matter of whether you want to hold down the Ctrl key?
I always try to make the record as clean as possible. But when it is necessary to dubbing the video duration of 20 minutes with several characters, these tails at the takes still happen. Because the actor can not always quickly get to the right moment and I need to start record or a little earlier or a little later. Sometimes you need to record some moments that were missed. All this leads to garbage in the project. Before choosing the best take I have to delete all those tails with your hands and roll out item to full length. If the record will have 100 replicas and each of several takes, then your method, it is hard too. Although of course, it's a more convenient, thanks for the tip.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 02:24 AM   #13
Numen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Would still be nice to have a script that deletes all items on selected tracks shorter than ~seconds (not sure if scripting can show a dialog of how many seconds to choose). I was going to try to whip something up but my schedule is slammed full until after Labor day.
I think the logic of this process should be this: click on the desired take, then run the script (by button or shortkey) and it should select all the adjacent items and remove them, but not those that are separated by a space.
Numen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 07:03 AM   #14
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numen View Post
I think the logic of this process should be this: click on the desired take, then run the script (by button or shortkey) and it should select all the adjacent items and remove them, but not those that are separated by a space.
That was my first thought but there may be tracks where there's an adjacent item (no space) that we want to keep. That said, since I keep takes collapsed, it only takes me a couple of seconds to clean up when I'm done recording takes so I'm not sure I'd use a script that much the more I think about it.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.