Old 10-07-2019, 05:06 PM   #1
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 233
Default Windows audio out to go thru a vst in reaper...how to?

Every other post/thread/video i found is for just recording audio.

I need the main windows out to go thru a track with vst processing inside reaper in real time. JUST FOR LISTENING/MONITORING in real time not for recording. I repeat...LISTENING/MONITORING only.

This video explains something kinda similar but it is for RECORDING the windows out which is what i DONT want and if you monitor using this method it creates a weird echo sound.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_okfrNQnC4

Im using an audient id44 (ASIO drivers) on windows 10
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 05:42 PM   #2
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 737
Default

That is called loopback recording, check if your audio interface can do that internally, otherwise you would need to make in using cables from the output of the mains to line Inputs of your audio interface.
Refer to your audio interface manufacturer and check if that is possible. Not a reaper issue.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 07:20 PM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,196
Default

There's virtual audio cable software for that too, such as VoiceMeeter. But since you need monitoring on in Reaper to hear the fx, you need to make sure the audio is not coming out the same outputs that you route into the track or you'll get feedback.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 11:38 PM   #4
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
That is called loopback recording, check if your audio interface can do that internally, otherwise you would need to make in using cables from the output of the mains to line Inputs of your audio interface.
Refer to your audio interface manufacturer and check if that is possible. Not a reaper issue.
Actually thanks a lot!
While that wasnt the anwser i was looking for it was the one i needed.
Investigating about the term loopback recording i found the answer i was looking for.
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 02:47 AM   #5
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Zeronaut View Post
Actually thanks a lot!
While that wasnt the anwser i was looking for it was the one i needed.
Investigating about the term loopback recording i found the answer i was looking for.
Glad to hear! All the best
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 02:01 PM   #6
shmuelyosef
Human being with feelings
 
shmuelyosef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 36
Default

My Audio interface (Focusrite Saffire Pro 40) has loopback and I use it often for some things, but when I'm using Windows Audio I connect with an optical cable to one of the digital inputs (most modern...e.g. i7 computers) have built in optical outputs on the soundcard or motherboard. Even my Dell laptop has optical output. You might check it out, because it's much simpler with lower latency than loopback (although the Focusrite software dumps the loopback before going to the mixer so it is pretty snappy...I'll bet your Audient, being newer has a solution)
__________________
SONAR refugee
shmuelyosef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.