Old 04-24-2019, 03:34 PM   #1
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,104
Default ? about space bar for play

I have the space bar as the key to play and stop play...

I seem to recall there was some setting to prevent the VSTi that is in focus from losing that when we hit Space Bar...???

Here is the longer story:

Omnisphere... saving a patch, then trying to enter text into the various attributes and names, etc. So when I type My Name the space between My and Name starts reaper playing and I can't type into the fields in Omni....

Is there some simple solution?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 04:00 PM   #2
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 982
Default

is it only VSTi that does this? Anytime I have an FX window in focus, my spacebar doesn't work at all for transport. Perhaps you have the passthrough set? I'm not sure what that is exactly, I just know i read about it...and I don't use a lot of instruments, just processing plugins.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 05:33 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,104
Default

thanks I'll dbl check that about passthrough.... could be

EDIT... nope no pass through of the spacebar... good thought though
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 04-24-2019 at 08:40 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 04:54 AM   #4
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 560
Default

Hit shift + space bar when you want to add a space, when entering text?
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 07:25 AM   #5
Geoff-h3o
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: wales
Posts: 510
Default Auto hot key?

There was a thread some time ago about using this to keep transport tied to space bar because it wasn't possible natively in Reaper ?!
Geoff-h3o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 12:34 PM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,104
Default

I could be wrong but it now seems to me it is a buglet in Omnisphere itself.... when running as a VSTi in reaper, it will not let me enter text info about the patch when saving.... when running standalone it works as expected... so... I can only assume it is something that reaper and Omni don't love about each other... not a huge deal but it would be nicer to have it working as it should.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 04:12 PM   #7
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by +NRG View Post
Hit shift + space bar when you want to add a space, when entering text?
Exactly this.
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.