Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 10-03-2019, 05:26 AM   #1
Dave JG
Human being with feelings

Default New to Reaper SMPTE 5.1 to FILM 5.1 conversion

Hi.

I have been using Reaper for a couple of months and I would greatly appreciate some help with a conversion issue between two 5.1 channel formats - the North American SMPTE/ITU six channel surround format and the FILM European six channel surround format.

The issue is this :

Many of the surround plug-ins (Including Waves) follow the European FILM format channel standard. I wasn’t aware that this was the case when I bought a couple of these plug-ins.

Reaper’s surround panner and surround output is geared towards the North American SMPTE/ITU standard. The two systems have channel arrangements which are different from each other and I would prefer to work in SMPTE.

Without going into too many details, I have some SMPTE format six channel multichannel wave files exported from another DAW. I like using these blocks of multichannel file because it simplifies synchronization between channel tracks. I want to tweak these a little and test them in Reaper using a couple of Waves surround plug-ins.

Is it possible to create a sub master which would channel switch SMPTE to FILM. This would not be for rendering an output in the format but for monitoring in surround and doing eq using the Reaper surround panner and the Waves surround plug-ins. After tweaking this multichannel file, I would bounce or render the file back into a SMPTE 5.1 six channel wave file.

Currently, my option for monitoring is a binaural surround sound plug-in by Waves. It works really well, but again there is that format issue.

The SMPTE/ITU format for 5.1 has the following six channel arrangement:

Channel 1 - Left Front Speaker

Channel 2 - Right Front Speaker

Channel 3 - Center Front Speaker

Chanel 4 - Low Frequency Effects Channel

Channel 5 - Left Surround Channel

Channel 6 - Right Surround Channel