Old 11-06-2013, 07:23 AM   #81
Argle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,264
Default

I don't suppose there's a way to drag the pattern to a track and create a MIDI clip, ala Stylus RMX? That would be the shizzle.
Argle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:34 AM   #82
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,186
Default

Already asked.

Can only be done by inserting an item and applying track fx to items (Midi out).
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:40 AM   #83
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argle View Post
I don't suppose there's a way to drag the pattern to a track and create a MIDI clip, ala Stylus RMX? That would be the shizzle.
Drag and drop to arrange view is not possible.
But there is quite easy workaround.
Add empty MIDI item to track and then use "Apply track Fx to items as new take (Midi Output)". That action will render the pattern to the MIDI item. If you have some VSTi on the same track after sequencer_baby (a very typical scenario), then you might need to configure Reaper to merge MIDI input to output of the VSTi. This is needed because typically VSTis are eating all MIDI and don't send anything out, thus rendering MIDI output would not produce anything.

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:14 AM   #84
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,121
Default

Or ...

Once you have the sequence sounding OK, just BYPASS the VSTi and do as above!

To test, just enable and BYPASS the seq_baby!

Job Done ... well it works fine with SQ8L

db
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:41 PM   #85
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Updated to version 017
- Toolbar for changing and copying patterns. Left click toolbar button to change pattern. Ctrl + Left click on a toolbar button will copy the active pattern to clicked pattern and change to the clicked pattern. You can also use this feature for clearing a pattern, just copy an empty pattern to the one you want to clear.

https://stash.reaper.fm/18598/sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip

Here is an example:


jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 04:02 PM   #86
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Updated to version 018
- Fix bug where pattern was unintentionally changed or copied when dragging from note area to toolbar.

https://stash.reaper.fm/18598/sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 04:39 PM   #87
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Very nice.

I noticed that the window doesn't remember it's size and position setting if I close and reopen it. Would it be possible to enable this? Also the per-pattern length/rate/etc. would be awesome.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:28 PM   #88
Elassi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elassi View Post
Is it possible to put this information/help on a second tab (like in Arp!bang0) for people with weak brains? Like me?
Forget that request. Wrote the shortcuts at the beginning of the code by using //
Elassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:37 PM   #89
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,604
Default

@ jnif : thank you sooooo much ! This should definitely be the default sequencer included with Reaper . Your hard work is highly appreciated.

Hello Devs
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 12:47 PM   #90
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Updated to version 019
- Added steps per beat slider.
- Improved global note length adjustment behavior when used together with swing.
- Fixed bug where tied notes did not stop playing after changing pattern.
- Fixed bug that added notes when clicking pattern buttons.

https://stash.reaper.fm/18598/sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:00 PM   #91
Muzikman2008
Human being with feelings
 
Muzikman2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: England, UK
Posts: 158
Default

Thanx jnif... think you best go to bed now lol...
Muzikman2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:54 PM   #92
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Updated to version 019
- Added steps per beat slider.
- Improved global note length adjustment behavior when used together with swing.
- Fixed bug where tied notes did not stop playing after changing pattern.
- Fixed bug that added notes when clicking pattern buttons.

https://stash.reaper.fm/18598/sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip

jnif
Dude! I am really so impressed with your work on this. You are a JS genius. I had set out some time back to create a version of Beat Designer, which is included with Cubase.
http://youtu.be/CjptMllv1g8
I was trying to build it using Reaktor, for learning purposes. But also to avoid buying yet another 3rd party plug-in when I already owned a potentially viable tool. Then you came along and eclipsed everything I was trying to do. Your sequencer is just about perfect for my needs.
The one thing that would be on my "wish list" would be some kind of flamming option per note. Almost like subdivisions within a single step. As seen here: http://youtu.be/USVvUymvzy8?t=45s When he clicks along the bottom edge of the note and little dots appear. The area in the lower left of the Beat Designer interface allows for velocity set per flam hit. If you somehow broke up a step into smaller subdivisions, it would be even more powerful than BD.
Other extended wish list stuff would be swing per note lane (as alluded to elsewhere in this thread), MIDI note pattern change and a toolbar, which you've already mentioned might be coming.
Again, your work is amazing. If you did nothing else to this thing after today, I still consider it a gem. Just wanted to add my 2 cents.

ps: An extra credit wish list ask would be to be able to load note name maps to the notes along the left side.
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com

Last edited by chriscomfort; 11-07-2013 at 07:00 PM.
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:43 PM   #93
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Updated to version 020
- Start offset adjustment of individual notes using Shift + Left drag.
- Start offset adjustment of all notes on a row using Shift + Alt + Left drag.
- Note drawing and erasing (Left click drag) is constrained to single row. Use Shift + Ctrl + Alt + Left drag for the old "freehand" drawing behavior.
- Quick Guide added to the start of plugin file

https://stash.reaper.fm/18598/sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip

Example of start offset adjustment:


jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 01:43 PM   #94
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
- Start offset adjustment of individual notes using Shift + Left drag.
- Start offset adjustment of all notes on a row using Shift + Alt + Left drag.
Nice touch!
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 02:09 PM   #95
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Dang this one becomes really epic. By looking at those interface and how easily you could modify and draw your stuff I thought how cool it would be to have a DELAY FX like this where I can set the amount of delay lines with the seq slider and draw single taps like notes. And drawing some cool stuff into the notes like pan or filter or something like that. I really like this "olschool" gui because it´s so clear and fast and easy to work with.

Regards
Sebastian
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:43 PM   #96
tut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 45
Default

You sir... are a Midi Ass Kicker... jnif the MAK ... thanks for all your work...
tut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:00 PM   #97
henge
Human being with feelings
 
henge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Wow!! Nice!
__________________
Registered Reaper user.
http://www.villageworkscanada.com/landingpad.cfm
henge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:16 PM   #98
bmanic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 443
Default

Awesome!!!!! NOW it is possible to properly GROOVE! Awesome awesome awesome!
bmanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:18 PM   #99
zoid9
Human being with feelings
 
zoid9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location Location
Posts: 983
Default

I'm having a ball with this! Thank you so much for your hard work!
__________________
16GB-i7-Mac Mini/Shovels,rakes,and implements of destruction.
zoid9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:29 PM   #100
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Updated to version 020
- Start offset adjustment of individual notes using Shift + Left drag.
- Start offset adjustment of all notes on a row using Shift + Alt + Left drag.
- Note drawing and erasing (Left click drag) is constrained to single row. Use Shift + Ctrl + Alt + Left drag for the old "freehand" drawing behavior.
- Quick Guide added to the start of plugin file

jnif
Quote:
Originally Posted by tut View Post
You sir... are a Midi Ass Kicker... jnif the MAK ... thanks for all your work...
Quote:
Originally Posted by henge View Post
Wow!! Nice!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmanic View Post
Awesome!!!!! NOW it is possible to properly GROOVE! Awesome awesome awesome!
Agreed. Your work, jnif, is amazing. Continuing to blow me away. Thank you for your time and effort.
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:52 PM   #101
RoboPlankton
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: my space
Posts: 932
Default

Getting better by the day, and it was good to begin with!

I'm wondering, with all the updates....

What do I need to put in the REAPER folder? I started off putting one file in, and then some more from you. I haven't played with the latest version yet since I've missed downloading several updates.


Do I need to download everything here and put it in the folder? Or what?


Cheers!
__________________
You never know what's coming
RoboPlankton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:57 AM   #102
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboPlankton View Post
Getting better by the day, and it was good to begin with!

I'm wondering, with all the updates....

What do I need to put in the REAPER folder? I started off putting one file in, and then some more from you. I haven't played with the latest version yet since I've missed downloading several updates.


Do I need to download everything here and put it in the folder? Or what?


Cheers!
Just take the last update above, and unzip it to your effects-->midi folder in reaper.

If you have made a project with a prev version then dont delete the previous update file
Otherwise delete the previous update files.
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:39 AM   #103
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,604
Default

Anybody has any other suggestions for changing patterns besides using a parameter envelope ?
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:58 AM   #104
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Thanks everyone for all the nice and positive comments!

Quote:
Originally Posted by suleiman View Post
Anybody has any other suggestions for changing patterns besides using a parameter envelope ?
I'm planning to add a MIDI trigger feature.
Something like in Cubase Beat Designer.

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:47 AM   #105
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,121
Default

Can you make the trigger come from another track as well as from a midi controller. Just thought, but it would be very useful.

db


PS Big thanks for this work ... brilliant.

Last edited by Dr Bob; 11-10-2013 at 04:47 AM. Reason: Gotta say thanks too!
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:31 AM   #106
RoboPlankton
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: my space
Posts: 932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suleiman View Post
Just take the last update above, and unzip it to your effects-->midi folder in reaper.

If you have made a project with a prev version then dont delete the previous update file
Otherwise delete the previous update files.

Thanks!

I was checking the size of one of the ZIP folders, and it showed about 8kb, so I thought this was a small incremental update . Unzipped it's obviously the full thing .


Also popped back in to say thanks again to jnif. I've just been playing with the latest version and am blown away by the individual note volume and timing sliders, actually ON the notes. Still plenty to check out, so my day is all mapped out!
__________________
You never know what's coming
RoboPlankton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 09:39 AM   #107
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 577
Default

thanks for this!

i am afraid latest 020 version is not saving sequences properly (1st version i tried)

my bass drum c3 notes are not saved when project is reloaded

pattern 0
note start 60
seq length 16
no of notes 32
rate 1
note length 100
mode drum map
swing 3
steps per beat 4

reaper 4.5.6
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Twitter
David Else is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:40 PM   #108
dimitris_T
Human being with feelings
 
dimitris_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 89
Default

Now that so many are using this,
it would be nice to share some presets.

For drum beats, but for arp-synth also.
dimitris_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:27 PM   #109
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
thanks for this!

i am afraid latest 020 version is not saving sequences properly (1st version i tried)

my bass drum c3 notes are not saved when project is reloaded

pattern 0
note start 60
seq length 16
no of notes 32
rate 1
note length 100
mode drum map
swing 3
steps per beat 4

reaper 4.5.6
Thanks for reporting this bug.

Saving is broken also in the official sequencer_baby_v2 in Reaper 4.55 and 4.56.

The reason is this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
A word of caution -- more than 24 notes may not save/restore properly, because the @serialize code actually gets its values converted to 32 bit floating point... To do more than 24 notes we should probably change the format of the configuration..
I will fix this in the next version.

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 03:02 PM   #110
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
Thanks for reporting this bug.

Saving is broken also in the official sequencer_baby_v2 in Reaper 4.55 and 4.56.
Oops I forgot that it goes to 32 bit floats for @serialize. my bad.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 03:49 PM   #111
Argle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,264
Default

Not sure how deep you're looking to go on this, but flam as another user asked for, would be very cool. retriggering a note X times as a subdivision of the beat would be quite useful for electronic music. I'm thinking per-row lanes would probably be the best way to do this, but I don't know if JS is even capable of something like that. Maybe too complicated an idea to pull off.
Argle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:05 PM   #112
Doc Shay
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Shay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argle View Post
Not sure how deep you're looking to go on this, but flam as another user asked for, would be very cool. retriggering a note X times as a subdivision of the beat would be quite useful for electronic music. I'm thinking per-row lanes would probably be the best way to do this, but I don't know if JS is even capable of something like that. Maybe too complicated an idea to pull off.
+1000 on a flam feature, would take this sequencer up another notch.
__________________
My music https://soundcloud.com/docshay

My twitter https://twitter.com/_DocShay
Doc Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 06:07 AM   #113
Karten
Human being with feelings
 
Karten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 23
Default

jnif, thank you very much for this nifty too. It's very handy!
Let me show some gratitude by sharing the custom action I just made to easily render the patterns as new MIDI items.
This assumes that the sequencer in the the first FX slot, before a virtual instrument (or sending MIDI out)

First, you need to set the loop points in the arrange window to whatever length you want the rendered pattern to be.

Then, here is the action (I called it BabySeq Render):
Insert new MIDI item...
SWS/S&M: Bypass all FX (except 01) for selected tracks
Item: Apply track/take to FX items (MIDI output)
Take: Crop to active take in items
SWS/S&M: Toggle all FX bypass for selected tracks

This will leave you with a rendered pattern and the sequencer bypassed.
Now just move to another section of the track, unbypass the sequencer and render another pattern.
__________________
Soundbanks for synths and FX: www.ghostwaveaudio.com
Ambient output: Maixant
Karten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 06:56 AM   #114
joesacco
Human being with feelings
 
joesacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 215
Default

Good one!

Would be cool if this could be added to the interface.
joesacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:12 AM   #115
Argle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,264
Default

Something that I noticed. When you insert this on a track you can hear the note previews no problem. When you insert it on an item, which would be my preference, you don't hear the note previews. Not sure if there's any way to fix this.

Last edited by Argle; 11-11-2013 at 09:35 AM.
Argle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:13 AM   #116
fr6
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Evry, in France
Posts: 117
Default Unzip sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip question.

Bonsoir !

I am on a Mac Mountain Lion, and downloading your well acclaimed sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip file gives a sequencer_baby_v2_jnif file on my disk ( zip extension went away ).

I can't do anything with it - nor by adding the zip extension.

It is difficult to go further on and taste the beauty.

Thanks for helping.
fr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 10:11 AM   #117
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr6 View Post
Bonsoir !

I am on a Mac Mountain Lion, and downloading your well acclaimed sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip file gives a sequencer_baby_v2_jnif file on my disk ( zip extension went away ).

I can't do anything with it - nor by adding the zip extension.

It is difficult to go further on and taste the beauty.

Thanks for helping.
Windows has a habit of sometimes displaying .zip files as if they were unzipped already, not sure about Mac. You need to make sure the file is extracted from the .zip and placed in the Effects folder for it to work.
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Twitter
David Else is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:44 AM   #118
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karten View Post
jnif, thank you very much for this nifty too. It's very handy!
Let me show some gratitude by sharing the custom action I just made to easily render the patterns as new MIDI items.
This assumes that the sequencer in the the first FX slot, before a virtual instrument (or sending MIDI out)

First, you need to set the loop points in the arrange window to whatever length you want the rendered pattern to be.

Then, here is the action (I called it BabySeq Render):
Insert new MIDI item...
SWS/S&M: Bypass all FX (except 01) for selected tracks
Item: Apply track/take to FX items (MIDI output)
Take: Crop to active take in items
SWS/S&M: Toggle all FX bypass for selected tracks

This will leave you with a rendered pattern and the sequencer bypassed.
Now just move to another section of the track, unbypass the sequencer and render another pattern.
Dang, nice script. Thx mate. Works like a charm.

Regards
Sebastian
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 02:19 PM   #119
fr6
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Evry, in France
Posts: 117
Default [topic aside] Unzip sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip question

@ David Else :

Thanks for your involvement in this miserable topic which keeps me away from the general amazement.

I downloaded from https://stash.reaper.fm 2 (two) zip files at random - "Send OSC messages to REAPER.zip" and "TextTape.zip" - and both *went fine*, I mean already unzipped in the download folder and the zip file in the thrash - same as on Windows.

BUT as to "sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip" file, I find it in the thrash, and in the download folder I don't get the unzipped (a folder in both cases above) : I get a "sequencer_baby_v2_jnif_020" files which means nothing.

If I copy "sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip" from the thrash into a local folder and make "unzip" with the Terminal application I get this :
Quote:
➜ ZZ unzip sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip
Archive: sequencer_baby_v2_jnif.zip
inflating: sequencer_baby_v2_jnif_020
The sequencer_baby_v2_jnif_020 is recognized as a "Unix Executable File" which doesn't give much.

I would understand this problem is not particularly the place where.

Cheers !
fr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 02:24 PM   #120
fr6
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Evry, in France
Posts: 117
Default

"sequencer_baby_v2_jnif_old_versions.zip" downloads fine.
fr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.