Old 07-14-2006, 12:35 PM   #1
lyquist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 421
Default How do I get this to work???

I posted another thread and people said that what I was trying to do was possible with Reaper, now you are going to have to tell me how to do it. Here is what I want to do...

I want to plug my guitar into my mixing board (which goes into my computer) and hear effects in real time. Like using my computer as a guitar amp. I can get the guitar sound to come out of the speakers, but I can't get it to have any effects. How do I do this with Reaper??? This is very confusing to me. I want to try out some distortion, reverb, flange, etc... effects. I do not want to record clean and then add effects later. I want it all to happen in as real time as possible. I realize there will be a small latency, but that is ok. I can deal with that and probably wouldn't notice it anyway.

Any specific help would be appreciated. I am truly a newbie at this. All my past experience has been with a Tascam 424 cassette four track machine. Thanks in advance.

Lyquist
lyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 01:01 PM   #2
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,479
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/1152907164/testguitar.RPP

Open that file in reaper

Click on the track meter to change your input to the correct one for your guitar

Click the I/O button on master and be sure you are sending reaper's output to the right place

Insure that track 1 is armed and that the furthest button on the track on the left on the meter row, looks like a speaker and is in Monitor or Autoinput mode

You should hear some distortion effect on your guitar from the JS distortion plugin
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 01:27 PM   #3
lyquist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 421
Default

How do I do it if I just want reverb and chorus on my acoustic guitar??? I truly appreciate everybodies patience with me.

Lyquist
lyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 01:34 PM   #4
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,867
Default

just insert a different effect!

all you need to do is click on the "FX" button on the track and select the desired effect.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 01:42 PM   #5
lyquist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill
just insert a different effect!

all you need to do is click on the "FX" button on the track and select the desired effect.
when I used his testguitar.rpp it wouldn't let me add any other effect. I am so ignorant when it comes to this. Maybe they will make a digital four track so I'll know what I'm doing and get the benefit of digital:-)

Lyquist
lyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 01:53 PM   #6
lyquist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 421
Default

I think I have it figured out. This is cool as shit. I can't wait until I get my electric off of layaway:-) My friend was letting me use his strat, but he had to leave.

Lyquist
lyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.