Old 06-28-2019, 04:32 PM   #1
rrabien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Default Detect OSC surfaces configured

Is there anyway to detect what OSC surfaces Reaper has configured and what their port numbers are, via Bonjour or similar? Or do I need to get the user to manually enter the ports?
rrabien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 02:24 AM   #2
netphreak
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 40
Default

I seriously doubt that would be worth the hassle, if at all possible. In what scenario would you use this?
netphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 02:56 AM   #3
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netphreak View Post
I seriously doubt that would be worth the hassle, if at all possible. In what scenario would you use this?
Entirely possible using Bonjour.

Use Case:

Drummer shows up with iPad
Hands it to Engineer
Engineer Fires up OSC app on iPad
iPad and Reaper find each other automatically via Bonjour
Engineer sets Reaper to communicate with that iPad using a "drummer monitor mixer" OSC template
Voila
Drummer can mix to own taste

Not Zero config (something/someone has to tell Reaper to use the "drummer monitor mixer" OSC template) but damn close
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36903/CSI%20alpha.zip
Reaper forum thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183143
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 08:34 AM   #4
rrabien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Default

It's obviously possible since Logic and TouchOSC do it. The spec is here: http://opensoundcontrol.org/discover...-local-network

But it doesn't seem very well supported, especially not on macOS.

The use case is that it's much faster to setup OSC devices and you don't need to worry if your IP address changes, which can happen fairly frequently if you use DHCP.

The Reaper settings file looks like a simple .ini file. I think I can just parse that and pass the values to my app.
rrabien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 07:20 AM   #5
netphreak
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 40
Default

Cool! I hope you succeed, and share the recipe with the rest of us
netphreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.