Old 01-14-2021, 01:36 AM   #521
wuky
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
This is Windows only, right? Crashes on launch on macOS 10.15, latest Python version (3.9.1)

EDIT: Took it for a spin 'round the block using Parallels Desktop and Win10. Worked very well, excellent work! I'll see if I can find out what's blocking it on macOS.
I am using the 'standard' python tkinter functionality so it should run on all platforms which can run python.

However, it looks like python has some Tk issues on macOS (e.g. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-with-respring)

Using an older python version might work (in the post they suggest 3.7.1)
wuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 01:43 AM   #522
wuky
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siniarch View Post
This looks pretty awesome Philip. Did you program the entire thing? What did you use. I'm trying to create something similar to this but for my controller. Unfortunately I'm not a programmer, so I have to resort to using Xojo.

Great job, I'm sure those with a C4 will certainly appreciate it.

Thank you.

Yes, written by me, using Python. The source code is included in the zip file.
wuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 02:58 AM   #523
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuky View Post
Yes, written by me, using Python. The source code is included in the zip file.
Thanks for this contribution to the community !!
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 03:33 AM   #524
sivert_h
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Posts: 35
Default

Thank you Funkybot for your reply!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
1. ToggleMapSelectedTrackSends is gone. It was replaced with:

MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets

So assign Flip to MapSelectedTrackSendsToWidgets. Then you need a GoZone action to take you back home to unmap them. So maybe try something like this:

3. You're currently using ToggleMapFocusedFX on JogwheelPush. That action is also gone. Use MapFocusedFXToWidgets instead, then GoZone Home to unmap. Just like the Sends.
So there's no way to toggle this? That really not an improvement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
2. The display takeover functionality will come back in a different state in the future. For now, pick one. It's on the to-do list.
What do you mean "pick one"?
sivert_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 04:58 AM   #525
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivert_h View Post
So there's no way to toggle this? That really not an improvement.
Yeah, that was a tough decision.

Many folks got hopelessly messed up with combinations of Mapping and Toggling combined with auto mapping via OnTrackSelection so we decided to remove Toggling, but I certainly get your point.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 06:08 AM   #526
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivert_h View Post
What do you mean "pick one"?
Right now you have to pick what you want displayed since it will be fixed until the takeover functionality is implemented. Example: always show volume or always show pan.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 11:09 AM   #527
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuky View Post
I am using the 'standard' python tkinter functionality so it should run on all platforms which can run python.

However, it looks like python has some Tk issues on macOS (e.g. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-with-respring)

Using an older python version might work (in the post they suggest 3.7.1)
I'll give that a try
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:08 PM   #528
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuky View Post
I am using the 'standard' python tkinter functionality so it should run on all platforms which can run python.

However, it looks like python has some Tk issues on macOS (e.g. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-with-respring)

Using an older python version might work (in the post they suggest 3.7.1)
No joy, i'm afraid.

Tried a bunch of things- different Python versions (using both the regular installers and via HomeBrew/pyenv), the latest Tcl/tk version (took me ages to get the damn thing recognised over the faulty 8.5.9 version that comes with the OS) I managed to get past Idle crashing, only to get stuck at Idle being unable to connect to a TCP/IP port.

Hopefully, someone with more Python experience than me can make better sense of it for macOS.

It was a breeze to get it working on Windows- install Python, double click your file, done
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:23 AM   #529
wuky
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
No joy, i'm afraid.

Tried a bunch of things- different Python versions (using both the regular installers and via HomeBrew/pyenv), the latest Tcl/tk version (took me ages to get the damn thing recognised over the faulty 8.5.9 version that comes with the OS) I managed to get past Idle crashing, only to get stuck at Idle being unable to connect to a TCP/IP port.

Hopefully, someone with more Python experience than me can make better sense of it for macOS.

It was a breeze to get it working on Windows- install Python, double click your file, done
Sorry to hear that,

The whole point of using python with the standard GUI framework was to avoid problems like this

I do not have access to a Mac so I cannot debug this myself.

Did you look at: https://www.python.org/download/mac/tcltk/ , maybe this could help?

Philip
wuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:26 AM   #530
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuky View Post
Did you look at: https://www.python.org/download/mac/tcltk/ , maybe this could help?
Yes, I did read that, it was what put me on the trail of the Tcl/tk versions. MacOS Catalina has Python 2.72 / Tcl/tk 8.5.9 installed by default and just installing a new version doesn’t mean it will actually be used- hence all the messing around with Homebrew, pyenv and editing of .zshrc.

It’s entirely possible that something specific to my system is fouling it up.
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:34 AM   #531
hedgehogbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyp24 View Post

As described a few posts ago, I'd like to use the Console 1 to map the most common FX controls "permanently" for the selected track.
that's interesting. is there a place we (by which i mean you, good sir) can share our config files so others can see how you're working? and by others i mean people who are just getting started with csi.

and by people who are just getting started with csi, i mean me.
hedgehogbrown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:55 AM   #532
hedgehogbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Default

also, i'm sure someone smarter than me has already asked this question or tried this idea, but since there is a csi action toggle for writing the raw file, can that action not also be edited to include some kind of midi learn feature that writes to that file as well? or possibly a context menu item?

just a thought.
hedgehogbrown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:20 PM   #533
JoshTobbell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 1
Default

Hi Everyone!

New to the forum, love the CSI project, thank you Geoff for all the effort you have put in to this! after a bit of head scratching trying to understand the code it has allowed me to get my Behringer X-touch set up to work with reaper exactly as I want it!

I was just wandering if anyone could help me with something I've been trying to do?

I had the idea that it might be useful for me to set up the rotary encoder on the channel strip so that if I held record arm, it could be used to change the hardware input for that track. So I thought I should try the code: RecordArm+Rotary| and then the required reaper action, in my Channel Zone in the Xtouch zone file.

The only trouble is I've not been able to find a reaper action to allow me to select the hardware input, I don't know if it is just me being stupid or you just aren't able to do this.

I hope hope that makes sense to someone!
JoshTobbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:41 PM   #534
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,002
Default

Josh, I don't know of any Reaper or CSI action that cycles track inputs, but it may be possible via scripting. Example, a quick Google search yielded this: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=131846

Now, that alone is probably not going to do exactly what you want, but I think it's evidence that what you're looking for is at least possible if you (or someone) can script it.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:06 PM   #535
andyp24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedgehogbrown View Post
that's interesting. is there a place we (by which i mean you, good sir) can share our config files so others can see how you're working? and by others i mean people who are just getting started with csi.

and by people who are just getting started with csi, i mean me.
Yes and No :-)

Geoff includes the mst files with the download of CSI; that's the "map" of the physical controller itself. One is included for the Console 1 already, which is incomplete. I've completed the mapping of all buttons and knobs, but haven't got around to giving it to Geoff yet ;-)

As far as then mapping FX to the controller, I have done some work on creating those files for some of the plugins I use most often. But they're not very common FX (DMG Equilibrium, Compassion, TrackControl, Limitless) so sharing them in the download probably wouldn't reach many actual users. For that reason, I'm not sure Geoff will include many such files.

I guess if there IS an argument for these being included it would be for the ReaPlugs such as ReaEQ, ReaComp etc that all CSI users will have. But unfortunately, I tried mapping ReaComp to the controller and it doesn't play very nicely (fundamental to the VST, not a problem of CSI apparently). There are huge value jumps in the Threshold etc for tiny controller movements. So I stopped doing that work.

Ultimately, it would be good to have some kind of Repository for both the MST (Physical controller) and Zone files (what parameters in Reaper or VSTs are controlled). Then users can look to see what Zones are available for the controllers they own and download them to use or modify.

For now, I'm holding off doing much more with the Console 1. Having played with it a while in CSI I'm seeing the quirks and drawbacks, and wondering about upgrading to Siniarch's new Custom Controller when it becomes available. If I don't do that (or can't afford it) then I'll go back to developing workflows with the Console 1.
andyp24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:12 PM   #536
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 504
Default

Hi!

Total newbie on CSI here!

Is it possible to make CSI send action to midieditor in Reaper?

I have tried with Switch01 Reaper "40055" but it dont mute the midi events.
(Have tried to put Switch01 in TransportControls and SelectedTrack)

Other Reaper actions for Main window works so there is no problem
with my surface not sending.
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Some of mine and my friends music projects on Spotify
tompad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:09 PM   #537
UNdark
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 46
Default video of CSI install and program (OS X)

Hello - This is a video of how installed and programmed CSI in OS x.

It's a complete walk through from - finding CSI and downloading to programming actions to the controller.

Aimed to help beginners!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7idVWp7WV0

(make sure it's in HD)

Thanks to all involved!
UNdark is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.