COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 01-17-2008, 11:18 AM   #1
mk66
Human being with feelings

Default MAC NINJAM + JACK OS X

Is there anybody who knows why NINJAM for Mac doesn't see JACK OSX drivers?
This would be useful to send audio from any music program (Garageband, Logic, etc...) directly to NINJAM.
mk66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:33 AM   #2
FingerSoup

I believe Jack was only put into Linux sources..... It was a non-dev team mod that added it if I'm not mistaken....
FingerSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 03:11 PM   #3
mk66

Quote:
Originally Posted by FingerSoup View Post
I believe Jack was only put into Linux sources..... It was a non-dev team mod that added it if I'm not mistaken....
I'm not a programmer but I know that JACK for Mac OS X exists and my audio preferences and garage band see this audio driver. JACK OS X is like a device, like a sound board: I don't understand why NINJAM can see built-in/out device, soundflower drivers... and it can't see JACK OS X. Could you help me?
Old 01-23-2008, 12:22 PM   #4
FingerSoup

Well, the issue is really with what TYPE of device it appears to be. At least in Windows, ASIO is incompatible with DirectSound, and wrappers need to be developed to allow DirectX programs to interface with ASIO devices. Is Jack OSX seen as an actual physical piece of hardware? if so, does the interface actually follow the spec of a soundflower device, a proper audio card, or is it similar to Linux Jack, where it is a seperate audio routing system that requires hooks in the host program to connect to the jack server?

If Jack appears as a hardware mixer as opposed to a Sound card per se, then that is why it doesn't work with Ninjam. The problem may be with the Jack driver and not with Ninjam at all.