Old 06-23-2021, 10:18 AM   #1
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,178
Default v6.30rc4 - June 23 2021

v6.30rc4 - June 23 2021
* Includes feature branch: render normalization
* Includes feature branch: EEL2 x86_64/SSE
* Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging

# JSFX: improve spacing of loudness meter elements at different font sizes also draw a box around the settings button
# JSFX: more loudness meter histogram display improvements
# Render: remove preference to calculate true peak, instead follow master vu preference to display true peak
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI v1.0 config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 10:43 AM   #2
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,210
Default

Dudes this has been persistent in the last few builds, sorry I'm getting to it now :



1. Draw points
2. make a couple of RE adjustments
3. Undo, does not retain any of the intermediate undo points and skips directly to 2 steps before the creation of the initial RE.

This is on a ReaControlMIDI lane - seems to work fine on Track Volume lane.

Last edited by ferropop; 06-23-2021 at 11:35 AM.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 11:40 AM   #3
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
  • # JSFX: improve spacing of loudness meter elements at different font sizes also draw a box around the settings button
  • # JSFX: more loudness meter histogram display improvements
Yesss, nice improvements, feels more balanced!

– better similarity between non/hi-dpi
– love the histogram drawing
– better solution without the Settings UTF icon(!)

ONLY thing I'd like to suggest, is to have the Auto-Mono indication in orange color (e.g. ff7f00) –for better coherence to the master in Default theme.

example:

PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 11:54 AM   #4
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 334
Default

v6.30rc4 - June 23 2021

Devs, thanks for this.
# JSFX: improve spacing of loudness meter elements at different font sizes also draw a box around the settings button

Now everything OK in Windows 7 too!
__________________
Together we're more!! - Brazilian ReaperLangPack + SWS Download here
Donate, if you wish

Last edited by Edison; 06-23-2021 at 12:05 PM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 11:55 AM   #5
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,493
Default

Sorry for coming again with graphical details, but when measuring true peak the clips of both sample and true peak show under the "True" label.. while it can be understood it doesn't look very clear.



I think it would be better if instead of aligning the values to the right they were centered so that the "/" show one under the other and the numbers are written under the corresponding label.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 11:55 AM   #6
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,470
Default Loudness Meter Peak/RMS/LUFS (Cockos)

Loudness Meter Peak/RMS/LUFS (Cockos)

With 'auto detect mono input' enabled the LUFS-I value is 3db higher,
then what other LUFS plugins show when media is a MONO WAV,
if stereo media then the value matches. Huh?

Last edited by Edgemeal; 06-23-2021 at 12:07 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:10 PM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Loudness Meter Peak/RMS/LUFS (Cockos)

With 'auto detect mono input' enabled the LUFS-I value is 3db higher,
then what other LUFS plugins show when media is a MONO WAV,
if stereo media then the value matches. Huh?
Is the automono indicator on (the boxed on the lower right of the plugin)? If not, that means there is some stereo characteristic to the signal and the calculation is done in stereo.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:11 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,850
Default

BTW just noticed the histogram drawing cuts off a few dB below the top, that will be fixed for the next build. You'd only notice if you had very loud media.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:24 PM   #9
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Is the automono indicator on (the boxed on the lower right of the plugin)? If not, that means there is some stereo characteristic to the signal and the calculation is done in stereo.
Ya the green "M" is shown,

WAV,
Sample rate: 44100
Channels: 1
Bits/sample: 24 (int)
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:25 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,850
Default

Feel free to share the media?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:31 PM   #11
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,470
Default

Simple project
https://stash.reaper.fm/42307/LUFS-I%20Test.zip
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:38 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
With 'auto detect mono input' enabled the LUFS-I value is 3db higher,
then what other LUFS plugins show when media is a MONO WAV,
Do you mean 3dB *lower*? Because that's what I see in your project and that's as expected. With your sample media, the REAPER meter shows lufs-i of -23.4 with autodetect mono enabled, which is the correct mono calculation. Other plugin meters show -20.4 or so because they are doing a stereo loudness calculation.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 12:41 PM   #13
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Do you mean 3dB *lower*? Because that's what I see in your project and that's as expected. With your sample media, the REAPER meter shows lufs-i of -23.4 with autodetect mono enabled, which is the correct mono calculation. Other plugin meters show -20.4 or so because they are doing a stereo loudness calculation.
Ya lower, OK, maybe I just keep it off so it works like what I'm used to. THANKS!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 01:29 PM   #14
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Ya lower, OK, maybe I just keep it off so it works like what I'm used to. THANKS!
If you render a stereo file with 2 identical channels (so it sounds like mono) then your normal lufs meter is right. But if you render a true mono file with 1 channel then Reaper’s mono mode tells you the correct loudness. You can try to disable one pin of your meter plugin on sounds with identical information on L/R and it should give you the same number as Reaper’s mono calculation.

At least that is how it makes sense to me, not at the computer to back this statement up so please correct me if I am saying some BS.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 02:00 PM   #15
ktm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
v6.30rc4 - June 23 2021

# Render: remove preference to calculate true peak, instead follow master vu preference to display true peak
Is there any specific reason for this change?
I prefered the option to have a regular peak meter while working and TP stats only on rendering.

And btw, thanks so much for the new loudness metering, the overall integration is absolutely fantastic!

Last edited by ktm; 06-23-2021 at 02:08 PM.
ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 02:13 PM   #16
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktm View Post
Is there any specific reason for this change?
I prefered the option to have a regular peak meter while working and TP stats only on rendering.

And btw, thanks so much for the new loudness metering, the overall integration is absolutely fantastic!
Tbh I also preferred being able to set TP metering in the project and TP analysis during render indipendently.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 07:18 AM   #17
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 481
Default

Hey Devs,
have a few more niggles

When the loudness meter is brought to a certain size, the meter bars start a tap dance:




If the size of the loudness meter is changed so that only numbers are visible, LUFS-M and LUFS-S no longer display correct current values:





And another thing, thanks for the option to adjust the font size! Very helpful However on low res screens it still comes to display problems. Numbers or names are obscured and have to be reduced in size so much that they are no longer readable. Especially on tracks in MCP. Would it be possible to still make some adjustments here?




For example, if the resolution does not allow a clean representation of names, the names could be shortened further. We still have the colors of the meter bars that tell us if it is RMS or LUFS.

So maybe something like:

TPeak= TP
R-M= M
R-I= I
L-M= M
L-S= S
LRA= LR, or maybe just R
L-I= I

The numbers could be rounded up or down if a clean representation is not possible. It would be more important to me to get a number i can read even if it's less precise - e.g. neutered by the decimal place - than a number that I can't even read because it's too tiny or obscured by other objects.


Nevertheless, thanks for these great tools!

Last edited by Zeno; 06-24-2021 at 10:57 AM.
Zeno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 08:50 AM   #18
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeno View Post
Hey Devs,
have a few more niggles

When the loudness meter is brought to a certain size, the meter bars start a tap dance:

If the size of the loudness meter is changed so that only numbers are visible, LUFS-M and LUFS-S no longer display correct current values:
Confirmed, same irregularities here on mac..
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 10:16 AM   #19
BPBaker
Human being with feelings
 
BPBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
# JSFX: more loudness meter histogram display improvements
I love the new histogram display! Very helpful and intuitive to read. It'd be *amazing* if we could have histogram and LRA options in the Master meter, too!
__________________
www.brendanpatrickbaker.com
BPBaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 10:39 AM   #20
alexgameaudio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 37
Default

I just wanna say it's really awesome watching these meters come together. It's already like night and day from last week.
alexgameaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.