Old 09-01-2018, 12:29 PM   #1
JMTee
Human being with feelings

Default Mixing: Master Track Compression

Hi guys,
I'm a newbie at mixing I'm mixing a song, following Kenny's "Mixing in Reaper" video tutorial. To add compression to the Master track, Kenny uses the Massey CT5 and the Cytomic Glue, wondering can I achieve the same result using ReaComp? I would like to have the same settings Kenny uses, but try and get those in ReaComp just not sure which settings in Massey CT 5, and Cytomic Glue equate to which settings in ReaComp.
Also on the Master track Kenny has the DB set at 0, but as seen in the screen shot below, when I have my Master DB set at 0 the track clips
Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated
NOTE: I originally added this post to a previous Massey CT 5 thread, but no response, so trying in the general forum to see if anyone has any suggestions.

Last edited by JMTee; 02-15-2024 at 05:43 AM.
JMTee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 02:10 PM   #2
dug dog

I remember trying to do exactly the same thing.

I don't know that I ever got there, but, for what it's worth, I've attached a couple presets that I use to approximate what I think he's doing. The SSL bus preset came from someone else and I can't recall who it was. I adjusted the attack and release times on that preset to approximate the pumping Massey.

Play with the release time on the pump comp to suit your track.

EDIT: I just noticed that Kenny's glue comp has a faster attack time, so.... adjust to taste.

I hope this is helpful.
Attached Files
File Type: fxp REACOMP Master Bus GLUE.FXP (132 Bytes, 197 views)
File Type: fxp REACOMP Master Bus Pump.FXP (132 Bytes, 163 views)
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 03:14 PM   #3
Stews

In the Reacomp screenshot you have the attack set to more than 3 times the amount as even the highest setting on the SSL clone. That quite possibly makes it sound a lot less like it than it could.