Old 02-17-2015, 08:46 AM   #1
SEA
Human being with feelings

Default Who Gigs Live with Reaper?

I was thinking about getting a laptop (cheap) and using Reaper to play live with while I had a 24bit mix playing live in Reaper as a backing track.

I would use Kontakt playing Sample pianos live the White Grand, and Scarbee mk II and some soft synths while singing through a small interface.

After considering the options, I think I'll try out the Steinberg UR22 It has midi and solid on Windows from what I hear.

Here's the Steinberg UR22

https://www.steinberg.net/en/product...elle/ur22.html

Thoughts?

SEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic

Last edited by SEA; 02-17-2015 at 02:33 PM. Reason: UPDATE
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:15 AM   #2
serr

I've been running live sound with Reaper for about 6 years now. I always make it record all the inputs to multitrack simultaneously too. Zero issues. Not even once. I haven't been playing out (or even enough lately) but Reaper is my live performance rig for guitar now too. You will not find a more stable DAW for live mixing work at extreme low latency.

Just playing back backing tracks for a live show and not even mixing with the system would be child's play for Reaper. Probably even do it with a 20 year old G3 laptop. The MIDI instruments you mention will be the thing that might need a bit of modern horsepower depending on what you want to use. There are a few modern sampled instrument plugins that use a gazillion samples for every single note and use more processor and ram that the entire DAW by itself.

Last edited by serr; 02-17-2015 at 09:22 AM.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:08 AM   #3
SEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post