Old 11-03-2015, 07:09 PM   #1
GRIM1977
Human being with feelings
 
GRIM1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Default a couple of questions

Hi everyone, noob here, would like your thoughts, I am running a macbook pro 2011, LION
10.7.5, I have a Roland Studio Capture on order and I would like to know if it will work well with Reaper, Also , do I need to get an external sound card or will the Studio Capture handle those duties.. and should I get the 64bit Reaper .. Thank you very much for time

Last edited by GRIM1977; 11-03-2015 at 07:18 PM.
GRIM1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 07:56 AM   #2
GRIM1977
Human being with feelings
 
GRIM1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Default Thanks !!!

Thanks for all the great ideas and suggestions, great forum! 62 views and nobody could bother to answer a couple of questions.....sad
GRIM1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 09:20 AM   #3
Guitardude57
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Default

I am a new guy here as well. I haven't tried my Macbook Pro yet, as my main studio computer is a dual boot pc. My interfaces are an 896HD MOTU, and an Ultralite for the laptop.
One HD in the computer runs XP Pro service pk 1, and the other Win7 Pro 64.

Reaper is working perfectly fine for me. All my Waves plugs work as expected.
In fact Reaper works better than SX3, and Sonar Producer 6.2.1 I have used since they were new... on my Win7 HD at 64 bits.

Let me know your issues in depth, and I will try to help you sort them out.

Mike
Guitardude57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 09:58 AM   #4
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRIM1977 View Post
Hi everyone, noob here, would like your thoughts, I am running a macbook pro 2011, LION
10.7.5, I have a Roland Studio Capture on order and I would like to know if it will work well with Reaper,
You can demo Reaper for free and find out. Reaper supports more audio interfaces than any other DAW. Download it and try it out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRIM1977 View Post
Also , do I need to get an external sound card or will the Studio Capture handle those duties..
Adapting a pci card interface to a newer Macbook Pro would be cumbersome and expensive. (External PCI card adapter and so forth...) Stick with firewire, USB, or thunderbolt.

What are you concerned with it handling?
Look up the manual for the unit and it will tell you if there are any restrictions you need to follow. For example, some units might restrict the number of inputs you can use at the extreme high sample rates like 192k.
Usually all the ins and outs are enabled for 44.1k & 48k and still usually for 88.2k & 96k as well. But the manual for the thing will tell you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GRIM1977 View Post
and should I get the 64bit Reaper .. Thank you very much for time
Totally depends on your 3rd party plugin collection.
23 bit plugins? Use 32 bit Reaper.
64 bit? Use 64 bit Reaper.
both? 64 bit Reaper would be the only choice and then hopefully there won't be an issue with Reaper bridging the 32 bit plugins to 64.

This all has zero to do with sound quality or performance. The 32 and 64 bit here refers to the OS code handling and NOT digital audio bit depth (which commonly uses the exact same numbers).

Last edited by serr; 11-05-2015 at 02:18 PM.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.