Old 12-15-2014, 07:53 PM   #1
JRicc07
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default Input Monitoring inaccuracy problem

Some quick specs first:

Windows 8
M-Audio M-Track Quad
Latest version of Reaper

This is a very unusual problem. It actually pertains to more than the input monitoring. It seems that even when the gain knobs on the M-Audio interface are set all set to zero, i'm still getting input readings. This is a problems since it means that i have zero control of the input signal going into the DAW.

To paint the picture a little further: I have a 4 mic set up for drums. even with the gain turned all the way down to zero, i'm still getting a -30db reading on the overheads, a -14db reading on the kick and a -2db reading on the snare mic. all tracks are set to mic/line, the interface has preamps, phantom power turned on for the condenser overheads... and even when we arm the tracks and hit record (with all of the gain knobs turned all the way down to zero) audio is still being recorded into the tracks on the DAW. This shouldn't happen if my interface's gain inputs are all the way down.

Any idea on what's going on here? I'm not sure if it's an issue with my reaper settings or if it's a problem with the interface. I would really appreciate the help. Thank you.
JRicc07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 02:13 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,192
Default

Hello JRicc07 and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

I cannot think that it is a Reaper-specific problem - more likely something going on in the M-Audio.
  • Has it always happened?
  • Double check that you do not have any loopback routing anywhere?
  • Also, try the M-Audio with another DAW product; see if there is any audio there.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 03:49 AM   #3
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

You might want to check for an updated driver (or maybe an older version driver) and see if that makes a difference.

Those M Audio drivers can be a little wonky. (yes, that's a technical term )


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 09:19 AM   #4
JGrabowMST
Human being with feelings
 
JGrabowMST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 333
Default

M-Audio actually removed the driver control of input gain years ago (like, 5 years or something like that). XP was the last operating system to have a driver that supported that feature.

If the gain knobs are turned all the way down, record something and see if your interface has really bad noise, or channel bleed on it. If the sound is a clean mic signal, then it may be time for a new interface. If it's pure static, it's a noisy pre-amp.

Reaper only takes what it's given as far as audio input, it offers no extra level of control beyond what the device drivers can do.
__________________
Pro Tools 9/10/11, Reaper x64, Adobe Audition, SoundTrack Pro, Mixxx
Dual Xeon 2620, 32gb, 240GB Intel SSD & Apple MacBook Pro, 16gb, 750gb HDD
M-Audio ProFire 2626 + Art TubeOpto 8 with Ei 12AX7 Smooth Plate tube swap
JGrabowMST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.