Old 08-07-2014, 02:35 PM   #1
Mike Gascoigne
Human being with feelings

Default A 60 year old novice needs realistic advice

A long winded question to a simple ask.
Having been a PC user for 15 years I decided to use a little cash that came my way to buy a Mac. My basic computer skills are basic! I don't know technical terms, but once I've learnt a process I am usually sound. I have basic experience at digital recording using a Boss (something or other) but I have decided to use my new plaything (the mac) to record my musical creations on.
I have at Focusrite 18i8 interface and I have learnt in the past four days how to use Garageband which came free with my Mac.
However, I find that software clumsy, and to be frank.... lacking the basics. I spent 2 hours trying to work out how to "punch-in" to tracks I had previously recorded... only to find I'd been wasting my time! An Apple forum told me that that basic useful feature was not available on the new Garageband software!
My question, given my limited skills and lack of techno speak, will it be easy to upload Reaper to my Mac and then get it communicating with my Focusrite? I really just want to do basic 8 track recording, mic-ing drums with 5 separate drums. Thanks for reading this far! Comments are very welcome.
Mike Gascoigne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 02:59 PM   #2
bonesinc

Hey Mike. Welcome.

It's very easy to get Reaper on your mac. It's just 1 file. My guess is that setting up your Focusrite will be just as easy. If your Focusrite works with GarageBand it'll likely work with Reaper too. Just give it a try. It'll probably cost you less then 10 minutes to find out whether it works or not. And I bet it does. :-)

Good luck!

Matt
bonesinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 03:05 PM   #3
JimFichs