Old 09-08-2007, 08:54 PM   #1
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,820
Default a word of warning for all the OTHER idiots out there.

yeah ummm so i wanted to play my ZSNES on my laptop... the laptop I do my recording on... and that is no problem. However i didnt want to listen to it on my cheap little laptop speakers!! Starfox and Street Fighter deserve MORE!!!

So i looked around for audio options in ZSNES to send to my firepod, to listen on my studio monitors.

none.

so i thought, well hey, ill just pipe windows mixer into the firepod, in the default audio and device settigns under control panel.

before long, i was fighting blanka in brazil and kickin some long-armed dhalsim arse.

thing is, I forgot to turn this stuff off when i went to do a little recording of "lover's cross" later.

In my acoustic fingerpicked track, there was a big TICK in one spot. And i noticed during monitoring i heard what sounded like a metronome but there was no metronome on.

i couldn't think of the reason...

then i realized that my interface was doing double duty... handling the ASIO and doign the windows mixer thing. I turned the windows stuff back to "conexant ac 97" or whatever, and all was fine.

I replaced the "click" with the same chord, played a little later on.

no other of the 3 vocal takes were harmed in this incident.



so kids, dont be stupid like me.


PS anyone know of a really good SNES emulator that uses ASIO?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 08:57 PM   #2
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default

Ha ha! I do stupid stuff like that all the time, the key to messing up is a quick recovery. good story
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 09:12 PM   #3
Consul
Human being with feelings
 
Consul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Posts: 489
Default

I was really afraid this story was going to end with, "and suddenly, the magnets flew out of the front of my speakers and embedded themselves in the back wall." I'm glad it didn't, and that you were able to recover.
Consul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 09:23 PM   #4
Rednroll
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
yeah ummm so i wanted to play my ZSNES on my laptop... the laptop I do my recording on... and that is no problem. However i didnt want to listen to it on my cheap little laptop speakers!! Starfox and Street Fighter deserve MORE!!!

So i looked around for audio options in ZSNES to send to my firepod, to listen on my studio monitors.

none.

so i thought, well hey, ill just pipe windows mixer into the firepod, in the default audio and device settigns under control panel.

before long, i was fighting blanka in brazil and kickin some long-armed dhalsim arse.

thing is, I forgot to turn this stuff off when i went to do a little recording of "lover's cross" later.

In my acoustic fingerpicked track, there was a big TICK in one spot. And i noticed during monitoring i heard what sounded like a metronome but there was no metronome on.

i couldn't think of the reason...

then i realized that my interface was doing double duty... handling the ASIO and doign the windows mixer thing. I turned the windows stuff back to "conexant ac 97" or whatever, and all was fine.

I replaced the "click" with the same chord, played a little later on.

no other of the 3 vocal takes were harmed in this incident.



so kids, dont be stupid like me.


PS anyone know of a really good SNES emulator that uses ASIO?
One of the many reasons I own a Sony PS3 and games never get installed on my PC.
Rednroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 09:43 PM   #5
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rednroll View Post
One of the many reasons I own a Sony PS3 and games never get installed on my PC.
kind of extreme

ZSNES doesnt even need to be "installed"

really, the moral of the story is,

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM
dont route your windows sounds through your soundcard you idiot!
not
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM
dont install games on your studio pc, you idiot.
although ill leave the latter for a better example of it
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Jason Brian Merrill; 09-08-2007 at 10:14 PM.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 10:06 PM   #6
Hired Goon
Human being with feelings
 
Hired Goon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Default

You should build yourself a gaming cab, with the ability to emulate not only Nintendo but all of the classic arcade machines. Throw in C64, Colecovision, Intellivision, etc. Tons of plans on the net, for building from scratch or buying fully operational with computer and ROMS included.

I hate sharing a computer for audio with other things - I find it's too distracting from the audio. Email, forums, and now bloody facebook. I want seperate machines for seperate functions. Keep it simple and lean, avoid registry bloat, and boost productivity.

Currently building my own MAME (multiple arcade machine emulator) cabinet, as well as a racing sim cockpit. Music studio to follow once I get the basement partially developed.

Some high end examples:

http://www.knievelkustoms.com/neonmame.htm

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/inde...0;attach=49383

http://www.enterleisure.co.uk/f1sims.htm
__________________
Zakk Wylde: Asked how he tames thousands of raucous metalheads each night at Ozzfest, the ever-laconic gladiator of the Gibson once told GP, “You just gotta beat some ass.”
Hired Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 10:09 PM   #7
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,820
Default

well yeah i would like to have a seperate machine ideally, but the only decent pc i have is my laptop

until then just having zsnes on my lappie is no biggie.

(just have to remember to put the settings back before i do recording)

Internets of any kind are banned however.

that i leave to my wonderful 600mhz celeron
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Jason Brian Merrill; 09-08-2007 at 10:15 PM.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 01:27 AM   #8
PhilR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 41
Default

Get yourself a cheap Xbox v1 and soft-mod it. There's one at my studio that we stuffed full of emulators. Now we have a 500Gb Xbox operating as a full media centre with a whole stack of native Xbox titles and emulators for NES, SNES, Neo-Geo and a bunch of other stuff.

It's pretty cool, shame I don't play games really cos I usually have to be in there for hours while bands practice.
PhilR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:16 AM   #9
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilR View Post
Get yourself a cheap Xbox v1 and soft-mod it. There's one at my studio that we stuffed full of emulators. Now we have a 500Gb Xbox operating as a full media centre with a whole stack of native Xbox titles and emulators for NES, SNES, Neo-Geo and a bunch of other stuff.

It's pretty cool, shame I don't play games really cos I usually have to be in there for hours while bands practice.
that sounds AWESOME!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 10:31 AM   #10
matiss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
Default

LOL I though this was another drama thread haha

I also use a modded xbox v1 and keep the games out of music computer, I think that's the way aha aha I like it..
matiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.