Old 03-24-2019, 06:47 AM   #1
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,126
Default Windows 7 assign audio to different outputs ?

I have an RME 9652 and want to have windows 7 use channels 3&4 for normal audio playback. I have opened control panel / sound but playback only lets me pick.
ADAT(1-8) and not specific channels 3&4. Is there a way ?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:15 AM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I have an RME 9652 and want to have windows 7 use channels 3&4 for normal audio playback. I have opened control panel / sound but playback only lets me pick.
ADAT(1-8) and not specific channels 3&4. Is there a way ?
I don't think you can do that. Most Windows apps just default to the first 2 outputs and are not configurable. You're better off configuring Reaper and other audio apps to something other than 1+2. ADAT channels are strictly digital, so likely won't connect to your monitors.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:24 AM   #3
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,343
Default

is that a hammerfall dsp card? If so you can configure WDM devices in the hammerfall dsp settings
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:26 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,126
Default

It is hammerfall but all is see is groupings of 8 for each of my 2 digimax fs units.

Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:28 AM   #5
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,343
Default

that's because you have your WDM device set to "multi-channel", it should work if you select "stereo"
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:49 AM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,126
Default

Thanks so much. I got it working ! I even renamed the "Speakers" to each channel pair to make it intuitive. I also didn't know there was a manual for the drivers

https://www.rme-audio.de/download/wi...driver_4_e.pdf

Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.