Old 09-28-2022, 11:05 AM   #1
DThompson55
Human being with feelings
 
DThompson55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 254
Default Batch Render of Videos

I'm trying to use Reaper to batch render video files in order to normalize their audio to -14 LUFS. It mostly works. But sometimes after it finishes without errors(?) the resulting file can't be opened by VLC Player or other tools. 100% reproducible, but I don't know if it's something I'm doing wrong, or if I found a problem? My config file looks pretty normal I think?

somefile.mp4
<CONFIG
OUTPATH .
NORMALIZE 3 -14.0 0
BRICKWALL 1 -2
<OUTFMT
RlZBWAAAAAAAAAAAAAgAAAAAAACAAAAAgAcAADgEAAAAAPBBAA AAAF8AAAAAAA==
>
>
__________________
It's like learning to paint with your ears.
DThompson55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 05:41 AM   #2
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 366
Default

maybe try changing the video encoder.

Last edited by papagirafe; 09-29-2022 at 06:37 AM.
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 09:23 AM   #3
DThompson55
Human being with feelings
 
DThompson55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papagirafe View Post
maybe try changing the video encoder.
I'll play around with different encoders. But the thing is, it works when I do it by hand. So, possibly something is different when I do it as a batch render.
__________________
It's like learning to paint with your ears.
DThompson55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 06:50 PM   #4
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 366
Default

Something similar happened to me with the Window media encoder. It seems that in batch mode, the encoding context from one video pollutes the next one giving seemingly random results occasionaly. FFMpeg in its full installation is still the most reliable encoder.
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 05:14 AM   #5
DThompson55
Human being with feelings
 
DThompson55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 254
Default

I found the same I think. I changed the render params to use ffmepg and I have what I need now.

I was trying to get fancy with it, interrogating the file, getting it's h w and clock, but with my limited knowledge it was unworkable. So I just let it rerender the video to 1920x1080 but keeping the original aspect ratio. The important thing for me was to normalize to -14 LUFS-I, and that seems to work just fine.
__________________
It's like learning to paint with your ears.
DThompson55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.