Old 03-21-2019, 01:40 PM   #41
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
This tool fires scale chords and notes into a composition, either by sequencing through the MIDI Editor or recording directly into Media Items.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CqVYcN3VAw

You can install it using ReaPack
This is fantastic, thank you!!!!

Can you give us the ability to change the font? The current font is a little hard to read on my Windows 10 machine. Also, can you give us the ability to scale the size of Chord gun? I have a very large touch screen in front of me and it would be really nice to be able to up the resolution of Chord Gun to full screen 2k.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 02:13 PM   #42
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
its in reateam. Chances are you already have it
got it :-)

thank you
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 07:51 AM   #43
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 532
Default

The thing I like about Chordgun the most is its associated actions.

I just discovered that there are Chord Type increment and decrement actions.
I find these to be very useful when testing out different flavors of chords.

2 things I ask, if possible:

- That the resulting chords created stay in the current octave
- And for velocity (either the notes use the previous average velocity, or the individual velocities (high to low notes), or a combination of both).

These would be soooo useful to me.

My quick workflow:
1) I create a very simple melody (snapped to scale).
2) I turn the notes into triads.
3) ---> From here I'd like to use your scripts to iterate through chord flavors.


---------------------
Edit... my bad..

I just took a closer look.
These chord types do not acknowledge the snap to scale settings in my midi browser.
I guess it just starts off with maybe a C Major or something (maybe from if I would've been using the Chordgun tool itself).

If it isn't feasible to make maybe a separate set of scripts that do the same but from one who is using the MIDI editor alone
would be nice. It would have to acknowledge the chosen scale and chord that is highlighted.
---------------------

Last edited by Ozman; 03-22-2019 at 08:02 AM.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 12:28 AM   #44
zigzag312
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Pandabot, how did you name notes in the piano roll by the scale degrees (like shown in the video)?
zigzag312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 02:27 AM   #45
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 545
Default

Is there a way to audition chords without inserting?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 09:05 AM   #46
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
lovely tool panda... I wonder if it can be tweaked to work with Inline MIDI Editor in reaper?

Seems to have no affect there at all
I don't think this is possible, api access into the Inline MIDI Editor is very limited. But even if it was possible I'm not going to do it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by srdmusic View Post
This is fantastic, thank you!!!!

Can you give us the ability to change the font? The current font is a little hard to read on my Windows 10 machine. Also, can you give us the ability to scale the size of Chord gun? I have a very large touch screen in front of me and it would be really nice to be able to up the resolution of Chord Gun to full screen 2k.
No unfortunately what you see is the best possible choice, that's the default font. If you select a different font then it comes out really blurry, I think there is something wrong with the way Reaper API handles fonts or maybe it's related to mac retina compatibility.

The windowing capability of the Reaper API is very limited, so all the elements are a static size. To make sizes dynamic would be a lot of work, it's not something I'm going to do.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zigzag312 View Post
Pandabot, how did you name notes in the piano roll by the scale degrees (like shown in the video)?
I have this code running

https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Re...eNoteNames.lua


It listens for the midi editor to open, then grabs the ChordGun values and updates the note names appropriately. It's not fit for public consumption though, has all sorts of custom stuff coupled into it. An interested person should be able to extract it and package it up though, that would be nice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Is there a way to audition chords without inserting?
Yeah it will audition chords without inserting if the midi editor is closed. If the midi editor is opened then it thinks you want to insert. I went back and forth on if it should be shift-click or not but decided to keep it simple and not use modifiers.

Last edited by pandabot; 04-21-2019 at 11:59 AM.
pandabot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 01:32 PM   #47
zigzag312
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
I have this code running

https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Re...eNoteNames.lua


It listens for the midi editor to open, then grabs the ChordGun values and updates the note names appropriately. It's not fit for public consumption though, has all sorts of custom stuff coupled into it. An interested person should be able to extract it and package it up though, that would be nice.
Thanks! I'll have a look at it.
zigzag312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:22 AM   #48
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
Yeah it will audition chords without inserting if the midi editor is closed. If the midi editor is opened then it thinks you want to insert. I went back and forth on if it should be shift-click or not but decided to keep it simple and not use modifiers.
Yeah, I tried shift/alt click in case it was that. It would be great if something like that could be added, as closing/opening the midi editor is rather a workflow killer. If you wanted to keep it visual you could add an arm/disarm button?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:37 AM   #49
multibody
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Yeah, I tried shift/alt click in case it was that. It would be great if something like that could be added, as closing/opening the midi editor is rather a workflow killer. If you wanted to keep it visual you could add an arm/disarm button?
Ich fully agree. Workflow wise a modifier would be best.

Awesome script by the way!
multibody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 10:02 AM   #50
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

The code for that change is here, with separate onPress and onShiftPress functions allowing you to audition chords while the midi editor is open

https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Ch...hordButton.lua
pandabot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 10:48 AM   #51
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 545
Default

Amazing thnaks Right, what do I do with it?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 10:55 AM   #52
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 22
Default

find someone who knows how to extract those pieces and drop them in

I'm not going to make shift-click the default behavior because I want this thing to be as easy to use as possible, but if you want to add that behavior the code is already written
pandabot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 10:31 PM   #53
Xenova
Human being with feelings
 
Xenova's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Default

I'm on windows and can't seem to use these shortcuts

Code:
ctrl+, - decrement scale tonic note
ctrl+. - increment scale tonic note
ctrl+shift+, - decrement scale type
ctrl+shift+. - increment scale type
option+, - halve grid size
option+. - double grid size
option+shift+, - decrement octave
option+shift+. - increment octave
command+, - decrement chord type
command+. - increment chord type
command+shift+, - decrement chord inversion
command+shift+. - increment chord inversion
Just wanted to know if anyone else is having this problem?
Xenova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 03:42 AM   #54
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
find someone who knows how to extract those pieces and drop them in

I'm not going to make shift-click the default behavior because I want this thing to be as easy to use as possible, but if you want to add that behavior the code is already written
Ok, I've had a whirl. Anyone care to shed a little more light?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 03:59 AM   #55
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,769
Default

I really enjoy this tool it's awesome !
However, workflow wise, i have to agree on the keymodifier thingy.
Maybe i have a real stupid and illogical workflow in my head but here it is anyway:

- I open an empty midi item in MIDI Editor at first (to have the ability to easily edit created chords, if needed)
- I open Chordgun and want to first audition chords (just left mouse clicking on them)
- Now i have auditioned the chords i want to create.
- I then create those chords in the empty midi item by (modifier key) plus left mouseclick)

In general, when i am doing MIDI, i wish to do that in MIDI Editor, not in Arrange.
Reason ?
9 out of 10 times i have to open MIDI Editor anyway for further (detailed) editing.

Just my 2 cents ofcourse.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 07:44 AM   #56
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 85
Default

This thing is fantastic, just what I have always wanted! I wish there was an option to stop notes from playing on mouse release though.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 11:13 AM   #57
brentini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Default This is dope!

Thanks a bunch for sharing this amazing script!
brentini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 03:05 PM   #58
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,448
Default

I've almost got a perfect layout for Chordgun going with ReaperWRB 2. Not quite mouse free but pretty nice.

This is the only MIDI thing I know of that works from Web Remotes.

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 07:31 AM   #59
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,448
Default

For anyone that hasn't jumped into using Chordgun yet, I've just published a tutorial



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_cqFfeOQYo
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:57 PM   #60
Sid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Default Another Solution

If you are interested in another way to do this, you might have a look at Lokasenna's Theory Helper
(https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=185358). It uses the scales from a .reascale file.
Just go to the Chord section. click to listen, shift-click to insert.
Click the scale name to pick a different one.
Sid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 03:55 AM   #61
thomas0906
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 40
Default

I have no chordgun script installed with reaper.
I don't find it.
I don't find the download.
I don't know how to install it.

Can anyone help me please?

OK, I found it after installing REAPACK.
Need no more help :-)

thanx
thomas

Last edited by thomas0906; 06-13-2019 at 04:10 AM.
thomas0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.