Old 04-02-2019, 09:19 AM   #1
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default v5.974rc1 - April 2 2019

v5.974rc1 - April 2 2019
  • + API: add GetSetProjectInfo, GetSetProjectInfo_String, primarily useful for manipulating render settings
  • + API: add MIDI_DisableSort, to disable sorting for all MIDI insert, delete, get and set functions, until the next call to MIDI_Sort
  • + ARA: improve alignment of various interfaces/objects
  • + ARA: support preview audio while editing ARA per-take FX
  • + Action window: optionally show ReaScript paths
  • + Actions: add action to reset global recording pass counter
  • + Actions: add actions to set media item start, end, or both to match source media [p=2107139]
  • + Actions: fix set item to media start/end actions for MIDI items and with stretch markers
  • + Automation items: add customizable per-item transition time
  • + Automation items: make optional chasing non-FX envelopes to automation items when underlying envelope is bypassed
  • + Envelopes: automatically rename send envelopes when renaming tracks
  • + Envelopes: faster delete when many points are selected
  • + Envelopes: prevent rendering curved segments as discrete points
  • + Item notes: optionally display image notes in full height mode
  • + Item/track images: detect changes when manually loading images [p=2112488]
  • + MIDI editor: draw linear tempo transitions similar to arrange view
  • + MIDI editor: faster deletion of notes/CCs via action [t=200877]
  • + MIDI editor: fix minimum note length behavior when snapping disabled [t=217677]
  • + MIDI editor: obey toolbar preference for CC following notes when quantizing notes only [t=172470]
  • + MIDI editor: optimize delete small notes actions [p=2114855]
  • + MIDI: add per-item option to chase MIDI CC/pitch/program before take start offset (in MIDI source properties, defaults to enabled for new MIDI items)
  • + MIDI: fix exporting unnamed project markers in type 0 MIDI files [t=219000]
  • + Markers: fix potential duplication of markers on project save [t=218608]
  • + Media item properties: update last state when closing window via action
  • + Notation editor: better handling of edits that extend the media item to the left [p=2112160]
  • + Notation editor: fix chart clef spacing in continuous view mode [t=209954]
  • + Notation editor: fix incosistent behavior when editing notation in non-active media item [t=218310]
  • + Notation editor: improve behavior when moving notation between tracks [t=209875]
  • + Notation: fix multicontext issues when using project tabs [p=2112215]
  • + ReaNINJAM: fix saving sessions to UTF-8 paths [t=190475]
  • + ReaScript IDE: fix various UTF-8 issues [t=219013]
  • + ReaScript: add GetSetAutomationItemInfo_String()
  • + ReaScript: add ThemeLayout_GetLayout/ThemeLayout_SetLayout
  • + ReaScript: fix CSurf_OnScroll() ydir bounds checking [t=218940]
  • + ReaScript: fix macOS behavior when calling MIDIEditor_GetMode() on a destroyed window [t=218796]
  • + Recording: add $recpass filename format wildcard (global recording pass counter) [t=212300]
  • + Render dialog: fix persistence of render tail setting in certain cases [t=218639]
  • + Render: add action to render using most recent settings, auto-close render dialog when finished
  • + Render: do not render media during render tail [t=201825]
  • + Ruler: enable seeking to markers/regions even when locked [t=217939]
  • + Still images: preference for controlling still image item thumbnail display mode
  • + Still images: preference for default length of imported still images
  • + Tempo envelope: do not create unnecessary tempo markers when pasting tempo envelope points [t=215995]
  • + Track grouping: respect grouping-disabled setting when swiping mute/etc in TCP/MCP/track manager
  • + VCAs: allow chaining of VCA groups [t=218066]
  • + VST3: do not show non-automatable parameters in last-tweaked menu [t=217809]
  • + Video: add option in Prefs/Media to allow video items to go offline
  • # API: restore pre-0326 behavior when calling MIDI functions with noSort=true (somewhat less efficient)
  • # Actions: improve actions to set media item start/end to match source media [p=2107404]
  • # Automation items: avoid occasional click at automation item start
  • # Automation items: fix "chasing" plugin envelopes to the start of the first automation item [t=218756]
  • # Automation items: fix bug introduced in +dev0324 [p=2113226]
  • # Automation items: fix one-sample rounding issue at automation item start
  • # Automation items: fix transition at edges of overlapping automation items
  • # Automation items: internal changes to transition time implementation
  • # Automation items: more transition improvements
  • # Envelopes: fix envelope jump when splitting take envelopes [p=2082089]
  • # Envelopes: fix point editing, broken in 5.965+dev0112
  • # Envelopes: restore correct behavior of action to insert new point at current position
  • # MIDI editor: fix quantizing CC after stretching notes and CC together [p=2107474]
  • # MIDI editor: optimize 'Edit: delete notes' action
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:20 AM   #2
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

... continued
  • # Notation editor: allow notation edits to extend the media item if necessary
  • # Notation editor: avoid extending media item to the right more than necessary
  • # Notation editor: better fix for inconsistency when editing notation in non-active MIDI item [p=2106819]
  • # Notation editor: extend media item if necessary when notation event occurs at the very end of the last measure
  • # Notation editor: fix mouse tracking when moving notation between rows with a single track displayed [p=2112160]
  • # Notation editor: fix some editing behaviors when moving notes and dynamics together [p=2110610]
  • # Notation editor: improve behavior when edits are bounded by the media item edges
  • # Notation editor: one more fix for editing notation text in non-active media item [p=2107475]
  • # Prefs: add help text for new video offline option
  • # Still images: allow specifying default image length in frames
  • # VCA: simplify chained VCA handling of pre-FX bit
  • # VST3: do not query parameter information for ignored automation notifications
  • # VST3: fix incorrect behavior relating to Waves CLA issue with recent dev builds [p=2110195]
  • # Video: fix video window CC assignment menu feedback in actions list
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:25 AM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
[*]+ MIDI editor: obey toolbar preference for CC following notes when quantizing notes only [t=172470]
Unfortunately, this nifty new feature always seems to be stuck in "Quantize: Position" mode: CC positions shift left or right together with note start position, but don't stretch together with the note length.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:30 AM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,239
Default

Seems like April's fool again 😁
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:17 AM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

This sometimes happens during the installation. It is not related to this particular release, happened with previous releases too.

I just press ignore and everything goes well.

Win7 x64.

bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:26 AM   #6
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
This sometimes happens during the installation. It is not related to this particular release, happened with previous releases too.

I just press ignore and everything goes well.

Win7 x64.
This should be in the Bug-reports-section.

This looks somehow like the file can't be accessed, which is either because the font-file is already in use or the installer doesn't have the privileges to access them.
Do you have Reaper or a another program runnning during install, that accesses fonts?
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:48 AM   #7
Jack Ruston
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

It's probably because Reaper is running
__________________
www.jackruston.com
Jack Ruston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:55 AM   #8
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

It's not running, I've checked the task manager. The installer is checking that anyway.

I'm running bunch of programs, but don't know if any of them knew about a font in the Reaper's folder.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 12:26 PM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
This sometimes happens during the installation. It is not related to this particular release, happened with previous releases too.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=175741
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 01:03 PM   #10
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Thanks, bumped there.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 01:22 PM   #11
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Thanks, bumped there.
Did you try that solution?
Quote:
Originally Posted by panicaftermath View Post
But when I rebooted, as expected, the file had been released and the install went without problem.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 01:49 PM   #12
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

There is no solution posted there except rebooting. If I press "ignore", the installation finishes ok.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 01:57 PM   #13
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
v5.974rc1 - April 2 2019
[list][*][b][COLOR=Green][*]+ API: add MIDI_DisableSort, to disable sorting for all MIDI insert, delete, get and set functions, until the next call to MIDI_Sort[*][b][COLOR=Green]+ ARA
What happens when the script calls MIDI_DisableSort but never calls MIDI_Sort ? Would it still be considered safe doing this?
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:02 PM   #14
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
[*]+ Actions: add actions to set media item start, end, or both to match source media
Still doesn't work with MIDI items
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:42 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
Still doesn't work with MIDI items
The item needs to have loop enabled for this to make sense, I think (since unlooped sources are resized to the item that contains them)?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:43 PM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
What happens when the script calls MIDI_DisableSort but never calls MIDI_Sort ? Would it still be considered safe doing this?
No, that would be unsafe and cause unpredictable behavior.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 03:19 PM   #17
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The item needs to have loop enabled for this to make sense, I think (since unlooped sources are resized to the item that contains them)?
I solved it for SWS in such a way that if non-looped it just resizes the item to data boundaries (CC and all included etc...) and if looped it resizes to first loop iteration
SWS/BR: Trim MIDI item to active content





Thinking back now, I'm thinking the better approach would be to preserve loop count and simply trim item to data that's part of the last/first loop iteration...
In the second gif the item would end up with 2 loop iterations, trimmed from the first MIDI event until the last MIDI event (+ a tick if last event is CC so it stays visible in the arrange)

Last edited by Breeder; 04-02-2019 at 03:25 PM.
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:24 PM   #18
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,009
Default problem -BIG

my *take volume envelopes* don't 'do' anything with this build, as if they are bypassed. e.g esses that i'd killed in backing vox, now clear as day.. redoing altering envelope, does nothing to volume and also the wave visual is unchanged (which changes with take vol env adjustments)

some other volumes where there were no AI's also changed.

checked prefs for anything relevant, no change.

please assist/advise - thought an RC was good to go - so bit surprised that render is different


edit:

can confirm this is reproducable in a new project > new track, rendered some vsti to audio, enable and draw take volume envelope - DOES NOTHING.
edit 2: Also take PAN envelope - take pitch still works.
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?

Last edited by BenK-msx; 04-02-2019 at 04:36 PM.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:37 PM   #19
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
my *take volume envelopes* don't 'do' anything with this build
Can't reproduce! Could you post a copy of your reaper.ini file, or email to support at cockos?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:39 PM   #20
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Can't reproduce! Could you post a copy of your reaper.ini file, or email to support at cockos?
blast hoping you could. hang on.


sent email, as those ini's are like showing you my underwear drawer - having taken a look...!
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?

Last edited by BenK-msx; 04-02-2019 at 04:49 PM.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:49 PM   #21
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

OK, got it. Fixing, thanks!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:51 PM   #22
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,009
Default

great!

my confused little face after hearing a mix i'd made a tiny tweak to sounding miles different when placed into mastering project was probably worth a picture.


eidt: i presume that a project saved while this bug was live will be ok after fix?
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?

Last edited by BenK-msx; 04-02-2019 at 05:02 PM.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:42 PM   #23
meta
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 33
Default

Did the new p_ext functionality for the GetSet*Info_String methods get axed?
meta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:47 PM   #24
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

v5.974rc1a - April 2 2019

+ ReaScript: allow querying envelopes via Get..Info_Value() by using P_ENV:<ENVCHUNKNAME
+ ReaScript: allow querying tracks and envelopes via P_* from Get..Info_Value() functions
+ ReaScript: properly validate Linux HWNDs for Dock*() etc
# MIDI editor: improve efficiency when quantizing CC events
# MIDI editor: quantize CC events relative to note end as well as note start
# Take envelopes: fix envelopes not being evaluated in some situations [p=2116612]

Last edited by nofish; 04-02-2019 at 10:56 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 02:18 AM   #25
Paul Eye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 305
Default

Thanks for the AI transition time fixes/additions, seems to be working as expected now
Paul Eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 04:02 AM   #26
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ ReaScript: add GetSetTrackSendInfo_String() and GetSetEnvelopeInfo_String() (for P_EXT: use)
+ ReaScript: add P_EXT: prefix for extension-specific string state for GetSetMediaTrackInfo_String() etc
+ ReaScript: add automation item pool extension state via P_POOL_EXT: prefix for GetSetAutomationItemInfo_String()
is all this P_EXT announced some days ago present in this release?
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 04:15 AM   #27
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
is all this P_EXT announced some days ago present in this release?
No, that code branch will probably be in the next official release after this one.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 04:24 AM   #28
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,812
Default

thank you schwa!
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.