Old 09-27-2019, 02:11 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,754
Default v5.983+dev0927 - September 27 2019

v5.983+dev0927 - September 27 2019
  • + VLC: fix crash with certain colorspace sources and VLC 3.x [t=225379]
  • # MIDI editor: reduce CPU use when pencil drawing large numbers of CCs [p=2185799]
  • # MIDI: optimize UI when auto-removing many redundant CCs
  • # MIDI: optimize drawing of redundant CC points
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 02:29 PM   #2
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 635
Default

is it now possible to add a point with a mouse clic without dragging ?
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 02:45 PM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,489
Default

With a double-click yes. Single-click, no.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 04:12 PM   #4
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
With a double-click yes. Single-click, no.
it would be easier with a single clic !
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 04:24 PM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,754
Default

A single click option would be good to have.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 04:47 PM   #6
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 282
Default VLC

I'm not sure if this is new or not, but zooming in really tight on the arrangement with a video track set to VLC playback in Windows 10 reaper is super slow. Even on an NVME drive. It's seems like reaper is crashing its so slow.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 12:30 AM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,804
Default

Quote:
# MIDI editor: reduce CPU use when pencil drawing large numbers of CCs [p=2185799]
When editing velocities by drawing with the mouse, some velocities are skipped if the mouse is moved too fast. CCs are edited smoothly.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 02:49 AM   #8
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
With a double-click yes. Single-click, no.
Has this been changed in the current pre? I could still insert CCs with a single click + modifier.
Can’t check at the moment.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 03:19 AM   #9
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Has this been changed in the current pre? I could still insert CCs with a single click + modifier.
Can’t check at the moment.
The mouse modifier to insert CCs with a single click is still there.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 03:22 AM   #10
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
The mouse modifier to insert CCs with a single click is still there.
That’s what I thought!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 03:23 AM   #11
LuisMarques
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default Request Sample Rate

Hi!!!

It should be great to have request sample rate per project and not as a default.
Sample rate changing behaviour could work as Pro Tools, which is, no matter what sample rate you have before, when you open another project the sample rate (if diferente) will change in "Audio MIDI setup" to follow the project.

can't wait to see this happen!

Regards,
LuisMarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 03:29 AM   #12
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,804
Default

While we are on the topic of mouse modifiers: modifier + double click in CC lane or CC event contexts still deselects all events before calling the linked action.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 03:41 AM   #13
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuisMarques View Post
It should be great to have request sample rate per project and not as a default.
Sample rate changing behaviour could work as Pro Tools, which is, no matter what sample rate you have before, when you open another project the sample rate (if diferente) will change in "Audio MIDI setup" to follow the project.
You can set the project sample rate in Project Settings, and it will update automatically when you switch projects (not when switching tabs, however).
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 04:06 AM   #14
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,953
Default

Concerning inserting CC events:





However, it's not possible to insert single CC events with the "multi action": "Edit selected CC events if any, otherwise draw/edit"
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 04:08 AM   #15
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Gerbage, Tennessee
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
A single click option would be good to have.
i've missed single click options in general in the modifier section -- by that i mean changing the action taken by a single click with no modifier at all
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 04:38 AM   #16
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
The mouse modifier to insert CCs with a single click is still there.
Yes but in order to insert a point, I have to drag the CC line.
Insert with double clic is not acccurate, most of the time, the point is inserted at the left of the grid line beside the one I clicked.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 05:26 AM   #17
MorkV
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Hello, This mouse modifier(no action) is not working.
Attached Images
File Type: png no action.png (37.6 KB, 76 views)
MorkV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 11:05 AM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,489
Default

Guys, save and open dialogs aren't following W10 Explorer dark mode... Please fix

EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 11:51 AM   #19
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,130
Default

Not even Default Commala 5 can touch it, only Windows 10 High Contrast.
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 12:43 PM   #20
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 612
Default Error drawing CC ramps with the last few pre-releases

In the current pre-release and in the last few pre-release. I'm getting an error message when using the js_Mouse editing - Draw ramp.lua script. v4.30

Attached is the error message.

Here's the symptoms of the error.

1) Draw CC nodes into a lane with one of the new CC envelope other than the square shape.

2) Attempt to draw a line with the JS'Draw Ramp' script.

The error message pops up and the script is not able to delete the previously drawn CC node I believe because the script does not know how to interact with the new envelope shapes.

In order for Julian's script to work, the user must convert all nodes to the square shape then use the script.

Julian has informed me that there is a part of the API that needs to be modified before his script will function properly. I saw that there was a pre release "API: add support for CC shapes to MIDI_Get(Set)AllEvts" According to Julian this seems to get us part of the way there.

I'm not sure what else is needed in the API but it would be awesome to be able to use Julian's scripts to draw CC envelope ramps with all the available shapes not just square. There is no major rush on this request as I know you guys are working on all kinds of other wonderful additions lately.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (20.4 KB, 60 views)

Last edited by srdmusic; 09-28-2019 at 01:38 PM.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 09:46 PM   #21
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v5.983+dev0927 - September 27 2019
  • # MIDI editor: reduce CPU use when pencil drawing large numbers of CCs [p=2185799]
  • # MIDI: optimize UI when auto-removing many redundant CCs
  • # MIDI: optimize drawing of redundant CCs

Thanks so much, devs! With 32 events per quarter note, CC drawing seems to work the same as before. With 64 events per quarter note, it's a little slower than CC bars up to v5.983, probably because of the new lines in CC envelopes. If you have to chance and it's possible to optimize a little more the performance of CC drawing, don't doubt it. You can be sure that there are countless situations in orchestral MIDI projects where you need a lot of headroom in terms if graphical performance.


Anyway, thanks again for the improvement!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.