Old 05-04-2020, 03:25 AM   #1
paatjoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Default Extract groove from audio file

Hi guys,

I'm kinda new in Reaper and I'm trying to find a way to extract the groove from a audio file.
Is there a way to do this?

I want to use a certain groove on all events in the arrangement which i got from a drumloop.

In other DAW's it's pretty easy to do, but I can't find it in Reaper.

Please advice!
🙏
paatjoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 04:12 PM   #2
paatjoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Nobody has a solution?
paatjoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 04:41 AM   #3
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,844
Default

Use Dynamic Split to extract slices or stretch markers, then you can use mpl_QuantizeTool script from ReaPack to align whatever you want.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 06:12 AM   #4
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 591
Default

hi mpl just discover quantizetool pretty awesome! Just wondering: if I want to use some selection of items as the anchor points I need to select Items>Item volume? It worked here but I got a little confused by the name, and because my expectation to see an option like Item position/start in the anchors menu.

congrats for the script, I would donate if I wasn't without students because of covid 19 :/ also the dolar is a little high in the moment for my currency (Real), low money time....
daniellumertz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 11:41 AM   #5
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniellumertz View Post
hi mpl just discover quantizetool pretty awesome! Just wondering: if I want to use some selection of items as the anchor points I need to select Items>Item volume?
If you select items it always takes item position as anchor point. But for example if you set envelope points as destination, you can not only align positions, but also values (optionally). In this case you can choose what value you get from item (item volume, audio item RMS value or audio item peak).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 02:10 AM   #6
jacko_shi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default Trying to extract groove too

Hi,

I'm trying to use this fonctions, according to the present thread.

I get this message any time I try to catch anchor points (midi/selected items or items)

"mpl_QuantizeTool_data.lua:394: attempt to call a nil value (global 'BR_GetMediaItemTakeGUID')"

any help would be welcome

Reaper 6.13 64b
Reapack 1.2.3 64b

Thanks for the work, time and dedication
jacko_shi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 07:52 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,014
Default

looks like SWS extension is not installed
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.